What's new

I'm really lost on this ftp/ip stuff (1 Viewer)

Paul D Young

Second Unit
I guess I'm new to this and I've never posted in this area before so please fell free to kill me if this is a heavily covered topic. But here it is:
Once in a while I come across statements like this:
You can use an FTP client, or Link Removed should do the trick.
which solved my problem but made me curious as well. I did not want to hijack that thread from those HTFers just because I was out of the loop so I started this thread to ask my questions. (And by the way, thanks to Frank_Lee for providing the clips and Rob Speicher for telling me how to access it.)
Anyway, what in the heck is an ftp server?
Or an ftp client?
What is IP?
And how did Rob know how to access it and I didn't?
Also, do they always have a password and login?
Why would I get all the info that Frank told me instead of just a link like Rob provided (no offense).:confused:
Am I an Idiot because everyone seems to know but me?

NickSo

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Nick So
FTP stands for FILE TRANSFER PROTOCOL. its basically a way to transfer files. The FTP SERVER holds the files, and depending on the rules, you can send, download, rename, etc files as if it was on your computer, but on the server.
An FTP client allows you to connect to the FTP server. Some popular ones are WSFTP, and SmartFTP. I myself like LeechFTP as i upload numerous files to my website sometimes, and leech allows me to upload from many connections. Just search for these programs in Google.
An IP is an IP ADDRESS. Its the 'address' of your computer on in the internet. So lets say the internet's the world, the ip address (four sets of numbers seperated by periods) is the address to YOUR house.
Rob knew how to access it because he knows how to access FTP servers. Either with an FTP client (described above), or using your browser with the link format: Link Removed which then the browser willl recognize it as an FTP, and connect accordingly.