1. Visit this thread for your chance to win a selection of Lionsgate action films on UV!
    Dismiss Notice

I'm not getting any on screen menus on my TV!

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Michael Cook, Jan 8, 2002.

  1. Michael Cook

    Michael Cook Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2001
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    No menus from my receiver are showing up on the TV. It is a Wega and I am running an s-video from the tv to the tv/monitor on the receiver. Do I need to hook something else up to see the menus??
     
  2. ColinM

    ColinM Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Messages:
    2,050
    Likes Received:
    0
    TV input selection correct?
     
  3. Michael Cook

    Michael Cook Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2001
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I have it set on Video 1 which is where the s-video is plugged in from the receiver.
     
  4. Ken Seeber

    Ken Seeber Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 1999
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    2
    What receiver are you using?
     
  5. Michael Cook

    Michael Cook Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2001
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's a Pioneer VSXD509-S. My father in law has that receiver and the menus show up on his TV, but he has an old TV and has to set the channel on the TV to 91.
     
  6. Paul_Dunlop

    Paul_Dunlop Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi
    It could be that when you hook it to his TV, you're using the composite cable instead of S-VID. (since his TV is old)
    Try using a composite cable from your receiver to the TV to test it out.
    Hope this helps
    Paul
     
  7. Ted Lee

    Ted Lee Lead Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    8,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    just to verify:

    1. you are running a s-vid cable from the "monitor out" on your receiver to the "video 1" input on your wega

    2. the wega is set to video 1

    if this is the case, you should definitely be getting the osd. the only thing i can think of is that your receiver does not pass the osd through the s-video.

    try connecting a composite cable instead and see if you get a picture.
     
  8. Andy Anderson

    Andy Anderson Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's definitely a possibility, Ted. My friend's Marantz 7200 is the same way. It's primarily an S-Video switcher, but it does have 1 or 2 Component inputs. The OSD is only passed over S-video or Composite.
     

Share This Page