What's new

I'm new to car audio, and I have no idea which brands are "good" and "bad"... (1 Viewer)

Jonny K

Second Unit
Kenwood? Pioneer? Alpine? Rockford Fosgate? Pheonix Gold? MTX? Etc etc...

I don't know what's good and what's bad. When I look at car audio advertisements, I see parts from different manufacturers mixed together in different combinations. Can I simply concentrate on one company and find everything I'm looking for, or must I mix and match?

I don't know much about this stuff, but I think Kenwood and Pioneer are both decent. Any suggestions? I'm hoping to build an affordable system with outstanding bass. (and great sound in general). I'm thinking of spending maybe $1500 Canadian (about $1000 US).

Thanks,

Jonny K. :)

Jason Merrick

Supporting Actor
Real Name
Jason Merrick
Jonny,

I am not an expert, but I'll try to help you get pointed in the right direction. First of all, what kind of car do you have, and more importantly how is the stock stereo? Is the sound quality good, but just not loud enough or not enough bass? I ask this, because for $1000 US, you probably shouldn't expect to get a new deck, amp, door speakers and sub including installation. Installation is the killer, but is also almost as important as what equipment you buy.