I'm looking to get an affordable 6.1 set up

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Shawn_Wen, Jan 24, 2003.

1. Shawn_Wen

Shawn_Wen Auditioning

i was looking at bose initially. from all that i've heard i'm not going to go with them. if someone could reccomend a good audio setup or point me in the direction of a good deal. i'm actually looking for a whole home theatre set up. i already have the TV. looking for dvd player, receiver, speakers and anything else i may need. all suggestions would be greatly appreciated as i am new to all of this. thanks for your time.

2. MatthewK

MatthewK Stunt Coordinator

Affordable is a VERY relative term. Could you give some of us a price range to deal with?

Matthew

3. Shawn_Wen

Shawn_Wen Auditioning

Oops, $1500 or less. The room is 12.5'x14' and is set up diagonally. I prewired the walls for surround speakers, initially for the Bose system, and would like a setup that is similar in size and mounting style. I have speaker terminal boxes mounted in the walls 5.5' off the floor. The front and rear center channel speakers can be different shape, rectangular as opposed to squarish, than the right and left channels as I can still change configuration of the mounting system for those. I don't know what the $$ restrictions will get me but I might be able to hold off on the receiver for now and just use the speaker terminals on the big screen tv until I can save some $$ for a good receiver.

4. LanceJ

LanceJ Producer

Here's a 5.1 speaker set I like. In your size of room I really don't think a 6.1 system is needed:

http://bostonacoustics.com/ProductsP...=1&SeriesID=15

The other $500? I would get a basic receiver & dvd player--the speakers are THE most important part of a sound system.

LJ

5. Shawn_Wen

Shawn_Wen Auditioning

thanks!

6. Shawn_Wen

Shawn_Wen Auditioning