I'm having a problem running an old LucasArts game on my PC - can anyone help?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Paul_D, Nov 26, 2001.

  1. Paul_D

    Paul_D Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2001
    Messages:
    2,048
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    One of my all time favourite games is LucasArts' 'Day of the Tentacle'. And I haven't been able to get it to work properly for years! The game starts fine, but the theres never any music, and the voices cut out after about 0.5 seconds, of beginning and dont come back! A friend suggested that it may be sound drivers, but I wouldnt know how to download new ones! I've tried it in XP compatability mode and it makes no difference! Anyone know what my problem might be and how to fix it!

    Any replies would really be appreciated!
     
  2. Chris Maynard

    Chris Maynard Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 1998
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Green Tentacle - "I wouldn't drink that if I were you."

    Purple Tentacle - "Nonesense!"

    Purple Tentacle - "It makes me feel strong, like...like...like I can take over the world!"

    "Naive Human!"

    "Hands off that Hamster!"

    "Chrono-John"

    Man that was a fun game!!!!!!

    It runs fine under Dos 6.2.
     
  3. Chris Bardon

    Chris Bardon Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2000
    Messages:
    2,059
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can't say that I've tried that recently, but that reminds me-is there a way to set up 98 (or XP for that matter) to dual boot with Dos 6.2? I have some old games that don't seem to like ANY version of windows that much (most Sierra stuff and Star Control 2 come to mind) and a dual boot might be nice. I seem to remember massive problems the last time I tried this though...
     
  4. Leroy

    Leroy Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Don't you need some DOS soundcard drivers? It's like when I try and play DukeNukem, I get the video just fine, but no sound since the drivers are only present in the Windows envirionment. I could be, and probably am wrong [​IMG] !
     
  5. Chris Bardon

    Chris Bardon Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2000
    Messages:
    2,059
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Depends. Yes, you need a driver, but I know that my SB Live will run with SB16 emulation, and should load with a DOS SB16 driver. Have you got a blaster environment variable set? That's usually the problem, and I know there's a way to get windows to automatically set this any time a command prompt is opened. Can't remember how offhand, but you can just type it in when you open the dos window.
     
  6. Rob Gillespie

    Rob Gillespie Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 1998
    Messages:
    3,632
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  7. Iain Lambert

    Iain Lambert Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 1999
    Messages:
    1,345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Its not an ideal answer, but I'm fairly sure the recent (as in the last month or two) release of DOTT has been updated to run in Windows - as it comes with Sam 'n' Max as well its not too painful to buy it again. here is a link to UK Amazon so you can see what I'm on about.
     
  8. Uchendu Nwachukwu

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2000
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    "Bernard, float over here so I can punch you!"
    Classic stuff.
    It's easy to dual-boot Dos 6.2 and XP. Simply install Dos 6.2 first, then install XP on a different partition.
     

Share This Page