I'm filming a movie next week!

Discussion in 'After Hours Lounge (Off Topic)' started by Micheal, Oct 25, 2005.

1. Micheal

Micheal Screenwriter

Alright, it's just a small project that I've cooked up but it could be quite fun. I wrote a small screenplay that's about 40 odd pages long. It's a horror film.

I'm shooting it with a Sony Digital Video Camera Recorder. (Luckily I have a tri-pod to help steady some shots. [​IMG]) We're going to start shooting next week and I need some advice. What's the best way to prepare for this sort of thing? Lighting is my biggest enemy. How do you test the lighting for each scene? I don't want scenes to be washed out or too dark.

I've shot some practice scenes that have turned out pretty well after editing. I'm using Adobe Premiere 1.5 to edit everything and I've had some experience with it. (We're talking a couple of days here...)

The cast is small, 7 people in total, with 3 main characters. If anyone has ever been in a movie before and has some advice... please post.

We're not taking this too seriously but we want to do the best that we can. Any tips on how to prepare would be great.

Thanks,

2. Grant B

Grant B Producer

My wife has been in some movies and some ads. Mostly she tells me how incredibly boring it is and how unnatural acting is to look natural.
    It's always good to have good plot tie-ins to the nudity if you need to convince someone [​IMG] [​IMG]

3. Wes

Wes Screenwriter

Wes Peterson
    It sounds like fun, I have shot a few movies with my Kids (all Horror type films) and we had a good time doing them. They last around 5-15 min long and the main actors have always met with doom in the end. It would be fun to shoot a short with grown ups as actors. Some of these stupid shorts on killsometime.com and Ifilms.com I have seen just make you wonder how they could spend so much time and resources and create such stupid movies.

No real advise though!

Wes

4. Jordan_E

Jordan_E Cinematographer