What's new

I'm clueless: looking for new speakers for new AVR-1803... (1 Viewer)

Matt Rexer

Stunt Coordinator
Deciding on a receiver was pretty easy -- there was plenty of easily-accessible reading material here and elsewhere about what to look for, what companies make good stuff right now, what features I might be interested in, etc. I'm very happy with my Denon AVR-1803. It was a helluva step up from my PL-only Sony "home theater in a box" junker I've been using for 5 years.

New speakers, on the other hand, are a puzzle to me. Probably because there are so many companies producing so many different types of speakers out there... I can't seem to get a handle on the things: what to look for, who makes the good stuff, who makes the good stuff in my price range, what might match my particular receiver...

Can anyone point me in a direction? I'd probably be willing to spend about $200-$300/speaker... probably only start out with 5 and eventually pick up the 6th and 7th when I can afford it. (a new sub will have to wait for another day as well, sigh)

Jo_M

Stunt Coordinator
The first step is to decide what you want the speakers for. Will it be HT or music. Do you want large speakers or something small that is non-obtrusive. Since you already have a budget in mind, hit some of the good stores in your area and listen to speakers, below, at and above your price range. When I say stores, I don't mean Circuit City and Best Buy. I mean stores that have listening rooms, good exquipment to drive the speakers and the knowledge to explain things to you. Bring music that you're familiar with and a movie or two that you're familiar with. Look for stores with liberal return policies. I auditioned 6 sets of 5.1 setups at home before I decided on the set to keep. Listening at home is much different then at the store and you'll get a better sense of the speakers in your environment. Hope this helps.

Russell _T

Supporting Actor
Matt,