What's new

I'm about ready to flip a coin..... (1 Viewer)

Eric-J-W

Auditioning
Hi, long time reader, first time poster....

I am looking to upgrade my current receiver and am completely stuck between the Onkyo 797 and the Yamaha 2200. They seem to be equally admirable units, and I have tested them in store and they sound the same to me. If anyone has any experience with them or even just a general opinion, it would be greatly appreciated.

BTW I am running all JBL's:
(2) S310 mains
(2) S38 surround
(1) S-Center

Thanks for any help you can offer!

Bob Sheen

Stunt Coordinator
I have no experience with the Onkyo, but i do have a RXV2200. I've had it for about 2 or 3 months and i'm really happy with this receiver. It's amazing how clean it is even at high volumes.

You'd happy with this receiver if you use it for a mix of HT and music.

Bob

Phil Mays

Second Unit
I have no experience with the Yamaha, but I do have a 797. I've had it for 8 months and am happy with the unit. If I had to do it over again with this unit I would get the Denon 3802.

Phil

PS Still happy with Onkyo though

Evan M.

Supporting Actor
i would also highly recommend the 2200. it is amazing for ht and music. very clean receiver. not at all bright like many of the earlier models. in fact i think it is a "warm" receiver. compared it to the denon 3802 (fantastic receiver) and i heard things with the yamaha that i never heard on the denon. it sounded warmer than the denon but still had very good highs and lows. onkyo makes a great receiver also but i think the yamaha edges it out in sound. i am also impressed by the yamaha remote. i just wish it was backlit. yamaha quality is secong to none as well. both would be great receivers. i am very yamaha biased though. you should try to demo these receivers side by side with your speakers if possible and let your ears choose. good luck

Camp

Senior HTF Member
Eric,

What are the prices on the two?