What's new

Im a newbie and i got just got a brand new spankin TV (1 Viewer)

Jae_P

Grip
Hey whats up everyone? I am new to the home theater scene so i was hoping i could come on here and get some helpful tips and advices from some of you experts. Ok, ive recently purchased a new HDTV called the Toshiba 50h71 TheaterView HD. When i first turned on my TV i realized how horrible my cable signal was and also my DVD picture wasnt too great either so i went out and upgraded all my cables to monster cables. Wow cables are expensive thats all i got to say. I noticed a huge difference in picture quality from my DVDs and my cable channels. I do watch alot of DVDs and the component output is great but i was wondering if there is anything else i could do to make the picture more clearer and sharper? Im not too worried about my cable channels since they look pretty clear. I still cant believe how much of a differenc the monster RF cables made but i am very happy with my cable channels. At the moment my only concern is my DVD picture. I can honestly say that the DVD picture is pretty good right now but ive seen better. So far ive only set the convergence and upgraded my cables because those are the only things i know how to do. What else can be done to improve the picture quality of my DVDs? Thanks for taking the time to read all this. Any advice is greatly appreciated. Peace.

Jeffrey Forner

Screenwriter
Jae;
Welcome to the Forum!
The first thing I would do if I were you would be to pick up a copy of a DVD called the Avia Guide to Home Theater. In it, you will find a series of video (and audio) test patterns along with instructions on how to use them. If you follow these directions, you will take your first step at getting a better picture. You can find it at various online retailers. Do a search on "Avia" here to find the best price.