I'm a newb about TV's and have some ?'s

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Jason_M, Nov 29, 2004.

1. Jason_M

Jason_M Stunt Coordinator

I have a 4 yr. old RPTV (Hitachi 53SBX59B)right now and it is going out finally. It has a faint red and green squiggly line in the upper left hand corner now and has sort of a blurry look to it now as it has aged. So I figure it is time for a new TV. I work at Circuit City and am going to get one from there and I have my eye on a few and have some questions for you guys. First off I have heard so many diff. opinions on LCD's, plasmas, and DLP's that I have no clue which are true and which are false. This is all I know for sure though. I have bad eyes and ears and I thought my Hitachi and my modest home theater looked and sounded awesome. Which all in all is all that really matters I guess. So as long as I think the tv I choose looks good then thats all I care about really. So on to my questions. I am looking at 4 diff. tv's. Here they are: Sony KDF50WE655, Sony KDF55WF655, Sony KDF55XS955, and the Panasonic PT50LC14. What are the main differences that I am looking at in these? I know the Sony's have diff. size and appearance but what else? I know the panasonic has more component inputs as well as PC inputs but would it make it better than built in HD tuner of Sony? I won't be doing HD anytime soon so the built in tuner would be nice to get OTA channels. Please help tell me what the main differences between the 3 Sony's are as well as if the Panasonic would be better than any of the 3 Sony's. Sorry for the looooooooooooong post.

2. Jason_M

I have one more quick question. What would a fullscreen dvd look like on a widescreen tv? I have mostly widescreen dvd's but there are a few fullscreen ones thrown in there and wonder what the picture will look like on a WS tv.

3. Jim Mcc

Jim Mcc Producer

Jim
    Jason, you would have black bars on both sides of image unless you used one of the stretch modes to fill screen.