What's new

I'm a complete newbie to Home Theater. Could I get some help choosing a DVD player? (1 Viewer)

Patrick_F

Agent
From what I've read, the below specs are what I want. If theres anything major missing that you think I should know please tell me. I'm looking to spend $400 at the most. Around $300 would be preferable.

I've done some shopping but there are so many DVD players its hard to find the right one for me. Plus, I don't know of a good place to find DVD player reviews.

* DTS (Digital Theatre System) digital output

* Dolby digital (AC-3) decoder, 5.1 channel suround digital output

* Compatible with DVD/VCD/SVCD/CVD/MP3/CD(or at least most of them)

* Progressive Scan

* Good quality video

* Multi code (All regions, detects the region itself)

* Digital audio optical & coaxial output, S-video output, Scart av output

* Supports HDTV

Thank you!

Keith_R

Screenwriter
Real Name
Kyle
Welcome to the forum Patrick. I'm not really all that qualified to answer all your questions as I'm still kind of a newbie myself but I can mention a few things.
Good quality video
What are you talking about DVD has good quality video no matter what.:) If you are referring to the DVD players ability to output good video, a couple things to keep in mind are:
  • * Toshiba has bad anamorphic downconversion on 4:3 T.Vs.
    * Sony IMO has to soft a picture which cuts down on artifacts but looks to soft.
    * A good in betweener is either Pioneer or Panasonic, they give off good picture but they stay a little softer to cut down artifacts.
I'd recommend from what I've heard on the board a Panasonic RP-91 or possibly another Panny model. I doubt these models will have multi regions but if multi region is really important you could get a Malata player or a Apex, I don't know though if Apex still does multi region. Hope this helps.

Michael Reuben

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Michael Reuben
* Progressive Scan