IIS Question..

Discussion in 'Computers' started by DeathStar1, Jan 25, 2005.

  1. DeathStar1

    DeathStar1 Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My server has Windows NT 4.0. Eventually, it's going to be upgraded, in order to better protect it, but what should I upgrade it too? What's the latest version of the IIS Software?

    Hopefully it didn't sound too stupid a question, but I havn't gotten around to looking at the Windows Product page y et [​IMG]. And I'm not sure what they have available..
     
  2. SethH

    SethH Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are you going to upgrade the OS or just IIS? IIS is on 6.0 right now, I think. If you're asking about OS, either XP Pro or Server 2003 will work for you.
     
  3. DeathStar1

    DeathStar1 Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Question about this new information.

    Can I upgrade IIS 4 to 6, without re-installing all the websites that are already setup?

    Have to do some research about Server 2003.


    I alreaday have Windows XP Pro. I saw that it included a version of IIS when installing our network, but I couldn't figure out how to access it as it didn't have a start menu icon like the Windows NT 4 version had..
     
  4. Chris

    Chris Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 1997
    Messages:
    6,788
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    XP Pro actually includes a limited IIS called PWS (Personal Web Server) which limits out most of the big functions of IIS, so I wouldn't consider it that valid to go to.

    To upgrade IIS, you have to upgrade Windows, and you are better off with IIS6 then IIS4 for multiple reasons, outside of functionality. IIS6 offers quite a bit more in terms of what it offers you as a webhost.. from better host header negotiations to executable branching and useage pools, etc.

    It's not quite Apache, but it's good [​IMG]

    (I say this and most of our servers run 2k3)
     
  5. DeathStar1

    DeathStar1 Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hmm, so much for installing IIS6 on NT4. Now...question. Can I load Windows XP on the machine, and then download IIS 6, or won't it work that way?

    Unfortunatly, the buisness only makes $40's a month at the moment with three customers, so we can't afford Server 2003 at the moment [​IMG]..
     
  6. Chris

    Chris Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 1997
    Messages:
    6,788
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No. You can't load XP. XP will not upgrade NT4 Server (though it kinda can for NT4 WS, but there is some trickery) and PWS, which is what XP uses, will only support 1 website.

    You could, as an alternative, load up Linux and run Apache if you need to go cheap [​IMG]

    Or, you can run XP and run Apache [​IMG]
     
  7. Sami Kallio

    Sami Kallio Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Fedora Core 3, Apache, there's my recommendation. Get also apt-get (& synaptic) and updating is rather easy.
     
  8. SethH

    SethH Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If Linux makes you nervous, then just do as mentioned above. Reformat, load XP Pro, download Apache.
     
  9. Bryan Toth

    Bryan Toth Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The versions of IIS are pretty much tied to the OS. (i.e. IIS4 = NT 4.0, IIS5 = Win2K, IIS6 = Win2K3) You can't really mix and match. The only upgrade path from NT 4.0 Server is to Win2K server (and possibly Win2K3 server) but I'd highly recommend backing up your web data and just re-installing the new OS if you're going to do that ....

    Bryan
     
  10. Andrew Pratt

    Andrew Pratt Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 1998
    Messages:
    3,806
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use to use IIS but switched over to Apache and haven't looked back. If you can't get 2003 Server just run Apache on XP Pro.
     
  11. DeathStar1

    DeathStar1 Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The versions of IIS are pretty much tied to the OS. (i.e. IIS4 = NT 4.0, IIS5 = Win2K, IIS6 = Win2K3) You can't really mix and match. The only upgrade path from NT 4.0 Server is to Win2K server (and possibly Win2K3 server) but I'd highly recommend backing up your web data and just re-installing the new OS if you're going to do that ....
    >>

    Yep, we always backup our data. Just spent a few hours doing just that, downloading all the data off the server onto a DVD disc..

    Maby I can make some dough at our upcoming April garage sale and make some money towards SErver 2k3....Either that or check out Apache...
     
  12. DaveNel

    DaveNel Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I wouldnt push server 2003, Its to new of a system and this comes alot of bugs in it. Wait till the upgraded version comes out. Windows XP would be a better choice either home or pro version.
     
  13. DeathStar1

    DeathStar1 Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, I downloaded Server 2K3 Trial Ware. I'll load it on my spare hard drive down the Jersey Shore and check it out.
     
  14. Tekara

    Tekara Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    been playing with 2k3 in the last week myself, it's obnoxious to work with. It's difficult to do anything as windows is determined that it knows what's best.

    I personnaly us apache (xampp), it installs easy, it works like it's supposed to and there's a lt of good help out there on the web for it.
     

Share This Page