What's new

IGood 5.1 audio on PS4 and TV, but cable box (receiver) blocking audio output (idk why) (1 Viewer)

Ketchup

Auditioning
Real Name
Nicolas
Hi everbody. I'm new to this world, and I bought recently a Sony RT3 (5.1). As a newcomer, I liked to start with a "basic" 5.1 system. I wanted a real surround system.

After studying all options available in my country, I decided to give a try to that system (i's old, but a good budget option).

Once installed, I loved when i realized that my TV (LG Smart TV 2019) can stream audio to it via bluetooth (official reviews in amazon said it cannot). however, the audio only came in 2.1, so I used a HDMI ARC to connect.

Everything ok, wonderfu sound with my PS4 (slim), and everything was going ok. BUT, when I connected my TV Cable to my TV, and turn TV on, sound was ok for 10 seconds, but then stopped from working (no sound at all, included PS4).

I unplugged the TV cable box from TV, and sound came back by magic. I connect my cable box, and again no sound.

Basically this is the sequence:

- PS4 to TV by HDMI
- HDMI ARC from TV to HT
- TV cable box unplugged
- Sound great

Then

- While TV on, plugged HDMI TV cable box to TV
- Sound good
- Turn off TV
- Turn on TV
- Sound from TV in HT is great, 10 secs after, no sound at all
- PS4: no sound, Cable TV: no sound.
- Unplug Cable box: sound come back

I don't know why this happens. I can live with this troubles, as I enjoy to use my HT for gaming and Netflix, and I unplug the Cable box to enjoy it. But i wonder why this weird thing happen, and if anybody knows, a possible solution.

I read once that some tv cable receivers have a "thing" that blocks the ARC channel from TV.

A pic of the tv cable box back https://img.yapo.cl/images/78/7893034634.jpg

Thank you everyone

JohnRice

Bounded In a Nutshell
Premium
Ambassador
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John