What's new

If not the 47A, what is best DVDA player? (1 Viewer)

Rob Roth

Stunt Coordinator
I've been using the 47A for over two weeks now and, while it has many virtues and I would recommend it to many, my Sony 9000ES does most of what the 47A does- and does it consistently better. I still might keep this player but I was wondering if it would make more sense to return it and get a high quality DVDA player. I am most interested in the DVDA performance, the video section is not a big concern. Which units are well regarded for the quality of DVDA sound?

BTW, I'm puzzled by seemingly anomalous performance by this unit. The DVDA stuff sounds great on the analog outputs, but when I use the same outputs for CD or DD/DTS (using the onboard decoders) the results are disappointing. Doesn't trhis unit use the same 192k DACs for all sources?

thanks

KeithH

Senior HTF Member
Rob, I have little experience with the '47A, but you might want to take a look at the Denon DVD-3800 for around $1200. It looks to be an excellent component. It is said to have a slight chroma bug problem, but I am betting it is excellent on the DVD-Audio side. I would like to hear it, but my local Denon dealers don't have it at this point. The Rotel RDV-1080 for around $1000 gets high marks for DVD-Audio playback too. If you can spend more money, you might also want to look at the Onkyo DV-S939 for around $1500 and the Integra DPS-9.1 for around $1600. Finally, I would bet that the $3500 Denon DVD-9000 and $3000 Integra RDV-1 are excellent too. :D You definitely have choices!
Oh, one other player to consider is the $800 Integra DPS-7.2. I've heard it at a store and was impressed. The same goes for the Rotel, Onkyo, and Integra players. Unfortunately, I have never had the opportunity to compare them. I am considering upgrading from my Technics DVD-A10 if DVD-Audio software really starts to flood stores, in which case I will start comparing these players.