If I trip a single fuse...

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by Robert Hoffman, Jun 7, 2005.

1. Robert Hoffman

Robert Hoffman Stunt Coordinator

...And I lose power to 3 air conditioners plugged into different outlets in 3 different rooms in addition to all of my stereo equipment (which is plugged into 3 different outlets in the living room) does that mean that everything is running on one single 15 amp line?

I'm a little worried I might need to call the building manager and request an electrical upgrade (which of course won't happen). I'm a total novice when it comes to this kind of stuff.

Thanks,
    Rob

2. Travis_R

Travis_R Stunt Coordinator

the answer sounds like Yes, If all that stuff goes off at once when the breaker pops, and then comes back on once you turn the breaker back on, then the answer is definitally yes, you could try to upgrade the breaker to a 20 amp but I wouldnt recommend that, as if it doesnt blow the 20 it may heat the wires up to much and create an electrical fire, thats why we have breakers, I feel your pain though, My house was wired by chimpanzees and I have since reran alot of my stuff, I now have a 20 amp breaker that is dedicated to my stereo equipment only, no light flickers here

3. Mike LS

Mike LS Supporting Actor

I can't tell from your post, but are you having problems with that circuit tripping on it's own, or are you just concerned about having that much on it at once? If it's not overloading the circuit don't worry about it.

Otherwise, if you're renting, you'll probably just have to take one of those A/C units off that circuit because you're right...they aren't going to upgrade since it's not a problem with the wiring, it's just that you have so much on one circuit.

4. Robert Hoffman

Robert Hoffman Stunt Coordinator