idiot-level question about VP

Discussion in 'Displays' started by chuckg, Apr 28, 2004.

1. chuckg

chuckg Supporting Actor

Greetings!

I have suddenly discovered that my house contains a home theater. Where the heck did that come from?

Now that all the parts are in and working, the drool factor comes into play, and I *really* want to put in a front-projection screen. ( 4.5 feet tall, 8 feet wide, drool drool. ) That leads to a few idiot-level questions. (BTW, I'm an engineer in a planetarium with more than just a little audio/video technology, so it is terribly embarassing that I have to ask these questions!)

Just what "resolution" is the HDTV standard delivering? Just what resolution does DVD *really* give? (sub question: in 4:3 , other ratios, and progressive scan ) What is the resolution of the digitalized version of NTSC? By these questions I mean how many dots tall, how many dots wide.

What video projector actually projects these standards? (or for that matter, is there any "viewing device" that gives these resolutions) - So far they all seem to deliver quite a lot less. By that I mean, is there a device for which the native mode matches the source resolution?

Finally, I am wondering why in the world I should run several sets of video cables all the way to my projector. Is there a consumer version of a head-end device that would do the switching and resolution matching and send the signal over one set of wires, in the projector's native mode? (in the pro world, such a device is called a seamless switcher, and they work just dandy.)

2. Jonty Rees

Jonty Rees Stunt Coordinator

Sony offers some kind of switch for video, (IFU-HS1), so I'm sure other manufacturers will also. You can probably also get a receiver that does all the switching and converting. My receiver is constrained to what-goes-in-must-come-out, but there must be newer ones that can handle anything in to anything out by now.

3. Allan Jayne

Allan Jayne Cinematographer