What's new

IB virgin needs help (1 Viewer)

I'm new to IB setups and really speaker building in general; however, my first project is underway. I'm building a 5.1 setup and am now working on the subwoofer. My budget is $350-$400 max, and I was decided on a Tempest in a sealed box with the 250W parts express plate amp, until I heard about IB. I have a size constraint of 19"Lx22"Wx30"H if I'm using a box.

People seem to be using a lot of drivers in IB setups, so I'm wondering if this is a function of IB setups needing more displacement or just people being nuts and excessive over bass (ie 4 Tempests or 12 Shivas, or even 2 Tempests). The room in which the setup will go is fairly small (I don't have measurements here), and I was previously under the impression that a sealed Tempest would put out more than enough bass.

With my budget, space constraints, etc, do you recommend IB or sealed with one Tempest?

Thanks in advance,
Greg

Dustin B

Senior HTF Member
$400 is lots for a dual driver IB. Two of the Parts Express Dayton 15IB drivers and a PE300-794. $220 for the drivers and $130 for the amp totals $350. Leaving you $50 to build the manifold which should be more than enough for that.

The PE IB drivers are single 8ohm voice coils, so parallel the pair and then the 250W plate amp is more than enough power.

Are 2 15s really necessary in an IB setup? Also, can anyone comment on if and why you'd need more displacement in an IB setup than a sealed one?

Greg

Dustin B

Senior HTF Member
The more displacement you have, the less you need to push the drivers and lower distortion will be (plus it gives headroom that can be eaten if you decide to EQ up the bottom end if it rolls off to fast for your tastes). A pair of 15s has Rich Kraus tickled pink. So if the funds are there why leave it to chance. Although you could build the manifold so that you can easily add another driver later if one isn't enough.