What's new

I want to make some small four speaker line arrays using Tang Bang W3-871S 3"ers... (2 Viewers)

Joel X

Stunt Coordinator
I want to make some small four speaker line arrays using Tang Bang W3-871S 3"ers because they don't need a crossover. Since i'm not an expert speaker builder yet this seems like it could be fun. I am curious what some no no's are of line arrays and what I can expect from this project. My plans are to purchase sixteen of these little things so I can make four monitors.

I want to do this half for fun, half for better sound at my computer which I plan on acquiring a used receiver for, hopefully a flagship model for better amps and gold plating... I'm open to any input since i'm at the early stages.

Chris Tsutsui

Screenwriter
Hehe, that doesn't seem like it would be a beginner's project but I can give you one "do".

1. Make sure the drivers line up like on a vertical axis and arn't spaced too far away from eachother.

Now just ask somebody for a crossover design and then the internal volume of the box and tuning and there you GO. :D

AllanRW

Second Unit
Well good to see another newbee getting the bug.
After you do the 871S I will swear you will get the bite of the DIY bug.

The 871S is a very good driver for the starter.
Run 2 and make a 1.5 ELF like CSS were you got the photo above.
The 1.5 is a very hard to beat design for the little money.
If you want more than 2 of them I will say a good person to contact for lines is Dr jim Griffin.
[email protected]
He just finished the line array that uses 16 per side of the 871S.
And I know of no one else that has his knowledge in the DIY about arrays.

Good luck.

Al

Rory Buszka

Supporting Actor