What's new

I think I need to re-learn how to find a job. Can anyone help? (1 Viewer)

McPaul

Screenwriter
Real Name
Paul M
I've been with the same telecom company for several years now. I found that job as soon as I came to Calgary from a small town, only a few years after graduating with a BBA from UCC in Kamloops, BC. I started in the call center, worked my way up through call center management, tech support, tech support management, and eventually Change Management Consulting.

Unfortunately, the company I worked for is well known for having quite a ruthless layoff program. My last promotion (in September 2003) was a huge step for me, but I found myself both "overpromoted" and low man on the totem pole. My major was in human resource management, and I have no formal training in change management, despite asking for it repeatedly over the last year. I have some retail experience as well from several years ago.

Suffice it to say, my resume does not look fantastic. I've been out of work for awhile now, constantly applying for things on monster, workopolis, hotjobs, and whatever else comes to mind, but for whatever reason, I never get a call. I think I can do well enough at the interview to get the job, or at least move to the second round of interviews, simply because I've GIVEN so many interviews - myself.

I don't have any contacts, really, to help find another job, as everyone I worked with on my level, and higher up the chart was in Vancouver, or Edmonton, or somewhere else out of town. (there was a lot of travel involved, yes!)

So now I'm stumped. I'm 32 years old, 10 years away from a BBA with no formal training since, and I don't have a lot of savings, so going to school isn't really an option right now, although I'd be more than happy to go back if I could afford it.