I purchased the Sharp XV-Z9000U I need some advise

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by jeff_john, Nov 10, 2001.

1. jeff_john

jeff_john Auditioning

I dove right in and bought the following peices for my home theater. Sharp XV-Z9000U, Denon 4802, M and K S-150 THX ultra speaker system. Great prices from Utah. I am very new to building a HT and would like to know what else you experienced users would add. I have a dedicated room in a dark basement measuring 20x16. I don't have unlimited funds but what are the must haves for this set up? Thanks, Jeff

2. Doug_B

Doug_B Screenwriter

How about a screen?
    ------------------
    "Today is a good day to die." ...Old Lodge Skins

3. Michael Lee

Michael Lee Supporting Actor

Jeff-
    Congratulations on your purchases. It sounds like you did some research and made some excellent choices. Doug's above post makes a good point. Did you choose a screen yet? There are numerous posts in the AVS Forum concerning the right screen to get with the Sharp. I also just purchased the 9000, but I already have a 108" Stewart GrayHawk electric-drop screen. I will not be changing it even if it is decided that it is too big for the gain.
    Do you already have a progressive scan DVD player? Definitely consider one if you don't. There are many new models to choose from. My favorite of the ~10 models I played with is the Panasonic RP-91. There are pros and cons for each player out there...this was just the best player for me.
    Where are you putting your equipment? If I could, I would put the equipment behind me or somewhere out of sight. I would try to get a nice rack (like Middle-Atlantic) and mount it. Right now, I have mine inwall with the equipment backing into a closet. If your equipment is out of sight, you would need an IR repeater system to control it.