I need some advice. Newbie here.

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by Roveen_A, Dec 19, 2003.

1. Roveen_A

Roveen_A Auditioning

I've been reading the posts and viewing all the pictures on here and I am amazed and very impressed with everyones creativity and vision. I hope I can create something at least half of what everyone is creating.

I need some advice:

Basically, I am having a house built and it turns out there was an empty area that is able to be framed and created into a room. The room is not too big. It is 11.5 feet wide and about 15 feet long. The room is 8 feet high.

I wanted to create a projector (hanging from ceiling)/screen type of media room and have a room for a couch or 2 theater seats. I didnt want to spend too much money as it is because this house is already costing me an arm and a leg, but as guys, we all want our toys.

In addition, my company gave me a brand new projector that I was thinking of using rather than buying a brand new one. It is an Epson Powerlite 730c. Here are its specs:

Projection System EPSON Orginal LCD Prism technology
    Projection Method Front Projection, rear/ceiling mount

LCD Size: 0.9 inch, Driving Method: EPSON Poly-Silicon TFT Active-Matrix, Pixel Number: 786,432 pixels (1024 x 768) x 3 LCDs, Native Resolution: XGA, Aspect Ratio: 4.3 (supports 16:9, 5:4), Pixel Arrangement: Stripe

Projection Lens Type: Manual zoom/Manual focus, F-number: 1.9 to 2.1, f-number: 31-36mm, Zoom ratio: 1:1.16

Lamp Type: 150W UHE, Life (typical): 1500H (can last about 5 yrs. based on 6 hours/week x 50 weeks/year)

Screen Width Ratio: (Dist/Width) 1.63 to 1.89:1

Screen Size (Projected Distance) 30" to 300" (1.0m to 11.7m)

Keystone Correction +/- 15 degrees (Automatic)

Brightness (typical) 2000 ANSI lumens (typical)

Contrast Ratio 400:1

Brightness Uniformity 85% (typical)

Color Reproduction 24 bit, 16.7 million colors

Sound Output 1W

Operating Temperature 5°C - 35°C,

Power Consumption 225W (5.5W at sleep mode)