I need recommendations on universal home theater remotes..

Discussion in 'Accessories, Cables, and Remotes' started by GeorgeVT, Jul 10, 2003.

1. GeorgeVT

GeorgeVT Agent

I currently have 4 remotes for my home theater:

1 for Toshiba 51H83 HDTV, 1 for digital cable box, 1 for Onkyo DVD changer, and 1 for my Sony STR-DE845 reciever.

What are some recommendations for universal remotes that would replace these 4 that are 200 dollars or under...I've been reading things on the Sony RM AV3000...any thoughts?

Thanks

2. Curt Jett

Curt Jett Agent

I have been using a Home Theater Master MX-500 for a couple of years now and would not be without it.
    Go to the link below for info on it and many others.

www.remotecentral.com

3. pradike

pradike Stunt Coordinator

The budget tends to drive the answer here....remotes central is a good place to start for homework.

If you want a fantastic remote...Marantz makes 2 of them...

The RC9200 (color, which I own, $1100) or else the RC5200 (black & white, $600).

Both have great icon=based touch screens, can run virtually any equipment (up to 14 devices), and can be programmed via a PC to customize the screens...up to 1400 macros. They both come with the software & cable to do this.

The Sony unit (about $179) is another touch-screen model which works OK.

4. Cliff Olson

Cliff Olson Stunt Coordinator

All I can say is, stay away from Harmony's remotes! I had no luck with the SST-768. I wasted a lot of time with the remote and trying to run down their customer service for help, which never did any good. I ended up selling it for much less than I paid for it. "Live and learn" [​IMG]

5. JamesCB

JamesCB Second Unit