I need advice

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by DavidPW, Nov 4, 2003.

1. DavidPW

DavidPW Auditioning

I am new to H.T but would really appreciate some of your expert help and opinions. What I have,a
    JVC 32" AV320 D 500, a JVCXVN55SL DVD, a Yamaha 5630 receiver.No speakers. The room size is 15x15. I would appreciate recommendations on speakers. Do I need a bass woofer or could I get along with a setup with four speakers and a center voice unit(my preference) Our house is two years old and everything is finished plaster.I think I can do the installation ok, going under the trim and following a stud to the desired height. Which by the way what should that be. The TV is located in a corner.Thanks in advance for the help understanding and advise.

Regards
    Dave

2. Darren Mortensen

Darren Mortensen Stunt Coordinator

Dave,
    Considering you are beginning to speaker shop, I would suggest budgeting well for these.
    Speaker technology and materials are ever changing, but unlike electronics, a speaker investment may last you the rest of your life... or several years at least.

A 5.1 system as you have considered would be fine... you can always expand to 6.1, 7.1 or whatever the future holds at a later date.

I would suggest a separate true subwoofer. That is a subwoofer than can reach subsonic frequencys that are encoded in many of the DVD's... Lord Of The Rings I and II to name a couple.

Speakers are like shopping for a new car. What I like about Mercedes, you may not... and you may prefer the Hyundai. The trick is "test driving" the speakers for yourself. Find a local A/V store that sells mid to hi end audio video equipment. Take in your favorite DVD and CD and audition the music/movies yourself. Some speakers will sound Bright (Klipsch), others Warm (B&W). To be honest, I think you will find that a decent full range speaker package is going to budgeted around $2000.00, and up from there in terms of size, brand and quality.