I need a New Computer!!!! Help!!!!

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Ryan Wishton, May 18, 2003.

1. Ryan Wishton

Ryan Wishton Screenwriter

Hi...

I am looking for a new computer... My limit is $2000...
    I am looking for something that is good with the internet... Also, good with DVD's, games, and college work...

DVD recorder, 6 in 1 media reader, nice video card, and a computer really easy to upgrade would be nice... I am not good with these things and am not interested in building one myself... I think I would also prefer a package which already includes a flat panel monitor...

Those are my main issues...

Where is a good place to buy a computer from... I want a place with very good customer service, warrenty plan, etc... I basically want the best computer I can get for the least money...

Are there any really good places online or around I can buy one from....

I have heard horror stories about Gateway and Dell, so I think I would prefer to stay away... Also, I hear they rip off people on the building and certain parts.. I have heard of overheating, over charge, etc...

Please, any help you can give would be very appreciated...

Good wesites, Good Brands, etc...

Thanks...

[​IMG]

2. Joel Mack

Joel Mack Cinematographer

You're going to hear horror stories about everyone.

My recommendation: Dell or build it yourself.

3. Brian Ruth

Brian Ruth Supporting Actor

Ryan:

I know that Alienware offers some small-form-factor computers (i.e. 8 inches by 8 inches by 12 inches) that have an OmniMediaCard reader, not sure if they've added that feature onto their other systems. I'd say build it yourself also, but since you mentioned you don't particularly want to, I think Alienware is a good compromise. You pay a fair premium for Alienware products, but I think the build quality is good enough to (usually) warrant the cost. [​IMG]

4. Thomas Newton

Thomas Newton Screenwriter