I may have been burned mailorder!

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Danny Bonnell, Jun 1, 2002.

1. Danny Bonnell

Hoping someone may be able to point me in the right direction. I have been doing business with a audio guy for about 18 months now..I call him up, tell him what I need..send him a check..and he sends my stuff. In other words most of the time its verbal. I've bought amps, cables, audio stuff in general. Price has ranged from minimal dollars to big purchases. He's never let me down. Most of the stuff is used, or almost brand new.
    Anyways..I recently sent him a check for some audio stands..about 1000 dollars..I have not heard from him in about 2 weeks nor will he call me back. Its not unusual for me to not hear from him for a while, as he has a business based in Chicago, and another based in Idaho Falls. His home office is in Idaho Falls. The phones still work, website is up, etc..but I still have an odd feeling about the whole deal. I have his exact physical address, and he's listed on Ebay and Square Trade. These purchases were NOT off Ebay.
    I'm trying to cover my bases if for some reason I get burned. Where do I start? Do I contact the Sheriffs office in his town? Contact the FBI? Better Business Bureau?
    I'm not opposed to flying out there and taking it out of his a$$ if I have to..although these days vigilantism is frowned upon [​IMG]
    Any help that can be offered, or advice would be appreciated!!

2. KeithH

KeithH Lead Actor

Danny, since he still has a web site up and running and other evidence suggesting he is still in business, it is possible that something came up. Perhaps he was called out of town suddenly. Maybe someone in his family died. Is it a one-man operation? From what you wrote, I assume you would not expect someone to be there to cover the phones in his absence. Since you have dealt with him many times before and never had a problem, you might want to give it some more time.