What's new

I love my Tempest, but......> (1 Viewer)

Cam McFarland

Supporting Actor
I now want to build a "ported" Sonosub with a Tumult.

I am not good with the box building programs & cant find
any plans online.
Before the yelling starts, I am sure there are some to be found, I just have not found them. :b

I have done some searches, but mostly found plans for sealed or with PRs & not ports.

Can somebody direct me to where some are located.

Thanks......

- Cam

ThomasW

Senior HTF Member
Here's a link to a ported design I build for the original HE-15. A Tumult would work in this box as well.

Note that for either the HE-15 or a Tumult, the level of construction shown is mandatory. This box is about 300lbs!

Cam McFarland

Supporting Actor
THanks Thomas......

Now, how about those "SONOSUB" designs....:)

I just need to know how much volume this requires, as well as porting.

Either that, or I am gonna go IB.....

Cam McFarland

Supporting Actor
Thomas,

A little figuring comes up with an 18" sonotube that is
~49" tall & a 6" flared port 25" long.
Would this about match your design volume wise?

Thanks......

- Cam

ThomasW

Senior HTF Member
Cam,

You better check with Adire. Im not sure that a Tumult is rated for long term use in a horizontal/downward firing position.

Dan Hine

Screenwriter
Using Adire's formula to find driver sag I found that the Tumult's to be right at 2% of driver Xmax. Adire says anything under 5% is fine so I would assume it would be ok. Brian Bunge has a downfiring Tumult with no issues as well. Better be prepared to strap a Tumult based sonosub down though.

- Dan

minhG

Stunt Coordinator

do you guys have moving companies on retainer? how do you manage with such a beast? I'd have to build it in the room to minimize the amount of moving!

ThomasW

Senior HTF Member
What's interesting is that per the equations the HE-15 comes in at 1.5% sag. John J. specifically said not to use it in a downfiring position.