I have spades and would like to change to bannana's...

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Josh Wolfman, Jan 14, 2003.

  1. Josh Wolfman

    Josh Wolfman Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have three Synergystic Research speaker cables with spades on the ends of them. My amp (Aragon 8008X3) does not like spades while sitting on the floor. What is the easiest way to convert the ends to bannana plugs? Can I just screw a bannana on the end of the spade? Where can I find these? Thx.
     
  2. Pete H

    Pete H Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2000
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would find out how much Synergystic would charge to re-terminate your cables. I'm not aware of any way to convert spades to banana.
     
  3. Ted Lee

    Ted Lee Lead Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    8,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i may be getting bad crack from my dealer again.

    but...

    i could swear i've seen a converter-doo-hickey that will allow you to connect your spade to a banana plug.

    essentially it has the screw on section (for the spade) on one end and the male banana plug on the other.

    just out of curiosity, why doesn't the amp like the spades? spacing issue?
     
  4. Chu Gai

    Chu Gai Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    7,270
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
  5. PaulT

    PaulT Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    932
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Rat Shack makes a cheapo converter, there must be someone out there who makes similar unit of better quality
    http://www.radioshack.com/product.as...5Fid=274%2D716
    If this is the type of thing you are looking for. I am not sure how this might solve your problem however as all it would do would be move the same connection to your amp out the length of the converter.
     
  6. Josh Wolfman

    Josh Wolfman Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am interested in this product for 2 reasons...

    1. The amps binding posts have to hang over the edge of a shelf in order to use my spades

    2. I stripped one of the binding posts on the amp
     
  7. Chu Gai

    Chu Gai Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    7,270
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you know, you could always replace the binding posts either yourself or at a shop. try contacting the amp people and see if they'll send you one.
     
  8. PaulT

    PaulT Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    932
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  9. Brian OK

    Brian OK Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2000
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I agree with Pete.... send them back to be reterminated.

    Too add another connection, another poor signal conducting link is self-defeating if sonic accuracy is your aim here.

    You will just be degrading the integrity of the original signal by trying to adapt another connector.... and it will be more loss... and far from the air-tight seal your connections should be in the first place.

    BOK
     
  10. Kevin T

    Kevin T Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2001
    Messages:
    1,402
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
  11. Josh Wolfman

    Josh Wolfman Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the replies!
     

Share This Page