I hate my reciever! Looking for separates.

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by greggor, Jun 1, 2004.

1. greggor

greggor Second Unit

Greg
    Maybe hate is a strong word to use here, but I have been using a Sony STRDA-777ES for about 4 years now and its time to retire it and upgrade to something better. My goal is to slowly work up to separates, which will allow me to temporarily task my Sony with pre-amp duties. I own a Paradigm studio reference set-up and would like to upgrade to Two Parasound 3 Channel amplifiers. My question is which models should I be looking for and are 3 channel amplifiers the way to go. My goal is to use the 6th channel for a 6.1 set-up down the road. Any and all opinions are welcome here.

Thanks,
    Greg

2. PaulT

PaulT Supporting Actor

If you want to go with Parasound, I think you will find a very nice match with the Paradigms (Rotel also matches very well).

I managed to find a used 3 channel Parasound 1203A and love it with my Studio 40's and CC570. They are few and far between on the used market - finding 1 maybe, finding 2, good luck.

You will have much better luck finding a used 5 channel 1205A (140WPC), then getting a 1000A for 2 channels (125WPC) - these are both still available new as well.

Run the 5 channel amp for your current fronts /center /surrounds, and keep the 1000A for backup for either 6.1 or 7.1 at some point. Make sure you get the 'A' models as they have the trigger inputs.

If you run Studio 100's for the fronts, then you may want to change this around to a 2 channel 1500A (200WPC) for the fronts, and the 5 channel for everything else (keeping 2 channels of the 5 for future use).

3. greggor

greggor Second Unit

Greg
    Thanks paul.

What do you mean by "trigger inputs"? I currently run studio 60's as my mains and studio 20's as surround speakers.