I hate leafblowers

Discussion in 'After Hours Lounge (Off Topic)' started by Gary->dee, Jul 25, 2003.

1. Gary->dee

Gary->dee Screenwriter

[​IMG]
    I'm not sure I can even explain why but something pisses me off about seeing a gardener with a leafblower. Maybe it's because they symbolize the literal pushing of nature by technological means. The noise, the pollution they emit as well as the clouds of dust they kick up.

Anyone else bothered by them?

2. Malcolm R

Malcolm R Executive Producer

Malcolm
    I agree that they seem to be one of the most pointless machines ever manufactured. The same job can be accomplished by a rake with a lot less pollution, consumption of natural resources, noise, and clouds of dust.

3. MickeS

MickeS Producer

...and a lot more time, effort and cost. If I was a professional landscaper, I'd use a leafblower, not a rake. That's like complaining that office workers use computers instead of typewriters when they want to write a letter.

Leafblowers of the world unite!

4. Gary->dee

Gary->dee Screenwriter

Boo! Hiss! :p)

I understand how they can save time, doesn't mean I like them any better though.

5. Leila Dougan

Leila Dougan Screenwriter

Oh I hate them as well. There's nothing like waking up at 6am on a Saturday to some guy blowing leaves outside your apartment window. Ugh.

Plus, I've never understood why leaves were so bad. If they're that important use a rake and if they aren't, just leave them be. We all know the next gust of wind will just blow the leaves back.

Now if the leave blowers actually picked UP the leaves and bagged them, that might be a different story.

6. Matt Stryker

Matt Stryker Screenwriter

I love em. I can't wait for my giant oak to start shedding this fall so I can try out my new toy:

[​IMG]

Craftsman 4-in-1 Yard Vac

7. Zen Butler

Zen Butler Producer

Zen K. Butler

8. Scott L

Scott L Producer