I got my M22s yesterday!!! Review inside.

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Robertto, Jun 4, 2002.

1. Robertto

Robertto Stunt Coordinator

Well...hmmm.. where do I start. Current set-up: Denon 1801, Cerwin Vega LS-6C Ctr, Sony Sawm40 sub, Aiwa leftover HT speakers running in rear. And I am a novice at this so don't rip me on terminology crap:)

Out of box sound is great, build quality is great, slight ding to bottom corner (factory outlet).

First off music, played the full gammit of my tastes from Lenny Kravitz to Jamirique(sp)to Incubus to NIN to Led Zep and Moby. Clarity was amazing and when paired with sub the lows flowed very smoothly from speaker to sub. The music did fill the room nicely(guess that's depth and sound field right?). I did not have to do much adjusting from cd to cd. Nin was my least fav out of the box, but I did not demo w/that cd either, so i can't say how it would sound on the Paradigms I was looking at. I will say that the Jamirique was perfect, I demoed the Moniter 3s, 5s and 7s and while they all had a bit more bass that the 22s, the 22s show why it is better if you have a sub because of the highs. Crystal, I mean crystal clear is how i would describe the highs. They blew away the moniters. Sound was soo much richer imo, I do see the Paradigms as a more laid back speaker now. Now I know venue and sound level are variables and this was not an a/b comparo but I think the difference is obvious. I wanted a bit more high end than the Paradigms and IMO got exactly what I was looking for in exchange for some low end umph(as I expected).

Now HT, this is where they really showed their quality. Unfortunately it also showed me how much my ctr sux. As said before great in the high but a bit weak in the lows. You do need a sub w/these IMO. One benefit for me is that my rears actually reproduce the all the sounds they are supposed too, just not as clear as I would like. The will be replaced after the ctr.