I don't want to start paying extra for HD programming!

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Captain Spaulding, Jul 16, 2002.

  1. Captain Spaulding

    Captain Spaulding Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    110
    Location:
    OH
    Real Name:
    Jay
    I really enjoy HDNet and the HBO HD channel from DirecTV. HDNet is free, and the HBO feed comes with my regular HBO subscription; thus no extra costs. And network, OTA broadcasts are, of course, free. However, Discovery Channel's HD programming is beginning on Dish Network for a fee. Mark Cuban says that HDNet will expand programming, but may become a subscription package. See this link:
    HDTV Article
    I just can not see myself shelling out yet more bucks to DirecTV for HD. If HD becomes subscription only, that's when I'll seriously think about DVHS for programming. Anyone feel the same....or not?
     
  2. Michael St. Clair

    Joined:
    May 3, 1999
    Messages:
    6,001
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'd happily pay $5-$8 a month for Discovery HD if Warner Cable would pick it up.

    In my opinion I do pay for HDTV. I pay several bucks a month for Showtime HD. Yeah, I get a dozen other standard-def Showtime channels with it, but that's not why I am paying.

    HBO I did already have...for The Sopranos, Six Feet Under, and Curb Your Enthusiasm.
     
  3. Jason Seaver

    Jason Seaver Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    9,306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, it sucks when people ask you to pay extra for a higher-quality product. [​IMG]
     
  4. DennisHP

    DennisHP Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2000
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I agree with Jay. The "higher-quality product" we already paid for is our expensive HDTV's. How many of us would have purchased them if we knew we would have to pay for the use of the feature?
     
  5. MickeS

    MickeS Producer

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2000
    Messages:
    5,058
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I already pay $80 a month for my cable. I won't spend a single dime more for HD, they're already making money hand over fist.

    /Mike
     
  6. Dave Scarpa

    Dave Scarpa Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 1999
    Messages:
    5,358
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Real Name:
    David Scarpa
    I tune in HDnet every now and then. For free it has its moments, but they better have aot better than colorado Rockies games and Hogan's Heroes and Speed Racer if they want me to pay for it. HBO? For Cropped Movies? C'mon. And as Sopranos etc I'd wait for the anamorphic DVD's
     
  7. MickeS

    MickeS Producer

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2000
    Messages:
    5,058
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0


    Are the HD movies cropped too? It always pisses me off that the movie channels show cropped movies. If HBO didn't have original programming I'd get rid of it.

    /Mike
     
  8. Pete Mazz

    Pete Mazz Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 17, 2000
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    $8 a month WITH commercials!!!!
    And of course you've already paid for an expensive STB to receive those commercials. Wow, I can't wait to see the Blowflex in HD. [​IMG]
    Pete
     
  9. TonyD

    TonyD Who do we think I am?
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 1999
    Messages:
    17,401
    Likes Received:
    520
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Gulf Coast
    Real Name:
    Tony D.
    showtime-hd still airs many movies in full frame with bars on the sides.
     
  10. John Berggren

    John Berggren Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 1999
    Messages:
    3,238
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That sucks. I'll have to start emailing HBO and Showtime now about OAR HD.
     
  11. James Stierman

    James Stierman Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Satallite providers will never be able to boadcast local channels in HD. So my suggestion is get an antenna to get HD, and a TV with a built in HD tuner. Lots of network shows are in HD. Also if you have cable by the end of the year they will be passing threw HD signals for free if you tv has a built in tuner you can recieve them. This is the plan from the FCC. If you don't have a built in tuner then you will have to rent a STB from them.
    http://hraunfoss.fcc.gov/edocs_publi...C-224218A1.pdf
     
  12. John Berggren

    John Berggren Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 1999
    Messages:
    3,238
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I currently have 2 digital STBs from TWC in Cary, NC. When I called them they've indicated I need to switch to an HD box on my HDTV, but that the rental will be the same as my current digital boxes.
     
  13. Michael St. Clair

    Joined:
    May 3, 1999
    Messages:
    6,001
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  14. John Tillman

    John Tillman Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 1999
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    James said:
     
  15. Michael St. Clair

    Joined:
    May 3, 1999
    Messages:
    6,001
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  16. James Stierman

    James Stierman Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Allow me to clarify, you will only be able to get networks in HD on a national feed. I live in detroit so I will not be able to get WWJ-TV unless i add an antenna(everyone should have an antenna anyway) Dish Network just doesn't have the compression technology to put local channels in HD for the all the major makets, theres not enough bandwith.
     
  17. Mark Booth

    Mark Booth Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 1999
    Messages:
    1,668
    Likes Received:
    739
    Trophy Points:
    1,610
    From the information I've gathered in various forums and web sites concerning Cox Cable's HD offernings the pricing scenario looks like this:

    • Basic over the air HD channels will cost no more than the cost of renting the box. That cost is likely to be no more than renting a (non-HD) digital cable box.

    • HBO HD and Showtime HD will be no extra cost if you already subscribe to the non-HD versions of each.

    • Certain other premium HD content (apparently, such as Discovery HD) will likely require an additional subscription fee. Figures in the $5-$6 per month range have been discussed.

    So, basically, to get it all (what's currently available in HD) will cost only $5 or $6 per month more than what you are already paying (provided you are already subscribing to HBO and Showtime).

    To have ALL of my channel choices (both HD and non-HD) to be tuned from a single set-top box, I'd easily pay even $10-$15 per month extra.

    Bring it on!

    Mark
     

Share This Page