I don't think I'll Buy a HD RPTV 16:9 Now! Help!!!

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by WaltL, Aug 15, 2001.

1. WaltL

WaltL Extra

After reading all the posts on this forum regarding HD RPTV 16:9 sets, you guys have scared the living s**t out of me!
    I am a relative novice at all this stuff, but I do know a little [​IMG].
    I was planning on purchasing either a Toshiba or Mitsubishi 65" HDTV RPTV with a 16:9 ratio until I read all the posts talking about how with cable and satellite, some of the channels are "unwatchable". What is meant by "unwatchable"? As compared to what? The HDTV viewing? Would it really be "unwatchable" to the average person?
    I ask these questions for the simple fact that I was planning on spending $3000 (maybe a little more)on one of these sets, but most of my viewing is done watching cable and Directv (and my Directivo). And while my VCR is rarely used anymore, I do have old home tapes that I would like to have the ability to view in the future. Not to mention the fact that I still use the VCR for the PIP function! Also, we still need to tape and view our favorite shows (which my Directivo can't always do).
    Anyway, what I am trying to say is that with my TV viewing primarily being cable and satellite TV, what would be the usefulness in me purchasing one of the 16:9 sets?
    I do have a progressive scan DVD player, but I might watch 1 maybe 2 movies a week.
    Also, does anyone have any suggestions or alternatives to the models I suggested that might help my problems?
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!
    Walt

2. Stefan A

Stefan A Second Unit