I can't get my optical cables to fit in my receiver

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Lanny_B, Oct 4, 2002.

1. Lanny_B

Lanny_B Second Unit

I'm trying to hook my DVD up to my receiver using the optical cable. Is it supposed to be hard to fit in? I lined it up to where it looked like it would fit, but couldn't get the cable to go in. This is my first time trying to do this, so I'm not sure what's going on. Is this normal?

I have an Onkyo SR600, and I bought Monster Interlink Lightspeed 100 Fibre Optic Cable.

2. Oren

Oren Stunt Coordinator

Did you take off the protective caps, on the receiver's input, the DVD player's output, and both ends of the cable?

3. Lanny_B

Lanny_B Second Unit

Ah-hah, I admit I didn't know to take anything off the cable itself. I'd never really seen these cables before, so I had no idea what would be breaking it.

What part of the cable to I take off?

4. Stephen Hopkins

Stephen Hopkins HW Reviewer
    HW Reviewer

Take off the small opaque cover on the very tip. It should come of fairly easily. If it's not, it's either stuck on, you your you don't have a cover in the first place.

5. Lanny_B

Lanny_B Second Unit

Ok, yes I do see a plastic cover on the tip. So it's okay to take it off and throw it away?

6. Kevin. W

Kevin. W Screenwriter

7. Lee Petty

Lee Petty Stunt Coordinator

be sure not to touch the tip of the cable though. fiber optic cables are very succeptible to contamination, and a simple fingerprint can cut up to 45% of data transmission out.

8. Lanny_B

Lanny_B Second Unit

crap, I wish I'd known about the fingerprint thing. I don't know if I touched it or not since I wasn't thinking about it... how do I know if I did much damage? Now I'm nervous about my cable, since it was pretty expensive.

9. Carl Johnson

Carl Johnson Cinematographer

Carl III