I can't get "msconfig" to work form Run menu

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Chuck C, Sep 18, 2004.

  1. Chuck C

    Chuck C Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,224
    Likes Received:
    1
    When I type in "msconfig" to the Run command line (start menu --> Run), nothing happens. How else can I access msconfig?

    using Win XP
     
  2. Jason Kirkpatri

    Jason Kirkpatri Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    0
    MSCONFIG is not part of XP. Download it off the net and install in your windows directory.

    Then it'll work....least, that's what I had to do.

    Using XP Pro.
     
  3. Jason Kirkpatri

    Jason Kirkpatri Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. Chuck C

    Chuck C Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,224
    Likes Received:
    1
    that's weird, b/c since I started using XP in 2002 I've been able to get a screen after typing in msconfig on the run prompt line and all the sudden it stopped working. My brother's computer runs XP and his msconfig works... "System Configuration Utility" screen pops up like mine used to. In other words, msconfig exists for 98 and XP, but where did mine go!!?

    edit: the downloadable version reacts the same way...nothingness
     
  5. Jason Kirkpatri

    Jason Kirkpatri Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got me on that one. I'm no computer expert so I can't offer any ideas....
     
  6. SethH

    SethH Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    0
    It sounds to me like you might have something screwing with you. I would download AdAware and run it. Then download Spybot and run it. Then download HiJackThis and run it (you'll have to post your results for HiJackThis on a forum on their website for help). If you do all those things I bet you'll be up-and-running.
     
  7. Joe Reinwald

    Joe Reinwald Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know SP2 on XP has been causing various problems. I wouldn't be surprised if it broke something...
     
  8. SethH

    SethH Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    0


    I won't say that SP2 is not the problem, but I've got access to 4 computers with SP2 and msconfig works on all of them.
     
  9. EricWilliam

    EricWilliam Agent

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Jason, MSCONFIG is most certainly part of WinXP...
     
  10. Jason Kirkpatri

    Jason Kirkpatri Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    0
    WHOOPS! That's right, my XP did have msconfig. It was Windows 2000 that I had to do the download.

    Again, no computer expert here.

    I'm running SP2 so I don't think that is an issue.

    Jason
     
  11. Michael Anthony

    Michael Anthony Auditioning

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think you might have to type "msconfig.exe" in the run command in order to access your options.
     
  12. EricWilliam

    EricWilliam Agent

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    as long as MSCONFIG has not been moved, you do not have to add ".exe" to the file name..
     
  13. Cees Alons

    Cees Alons Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 1997
    Messages:
    19,357
    Likes Received:
    293
    Real Name:
    Cees Alons
    Do you get an error message (something like "Windows cannot find Msconfig. ...blah, blah, blah...")? If not, the Run command did find the file and adding ".exe" has nothing to do with the problem.

    Cees
     
  14. Ken.Nischan

    Ken.Nischan Agent

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alot of viruses kill msconfig along with regedit to protect themselves. Try doing start, run, type regedit and hit OK. If you don't get a window named "Registry Editor" you certainly have a virus. Well, either way can't hurt to do a scan and be sure you update your definitions. Of course, lots of viruses also kill antivirus programs too [​IMG]

    Another way to tell if the virus is killing the process is to do a search for msconfig.exe and once you find it, rename it to something else like msconfig2.exe then run it. If it opens with a diff name, also a virus. I've seen them do that alot.
     
  15. Jack Shappa

    Jack Shappa Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    0
    Virus or ad program. One of the most insidious things I've seen ad banner programs do is redirect your google search. For instance you see "blah1" in your task monitor and want to see what it is so you do a google search on "blah1", and the bugger intercepts it and fixes your search results with links to "ad removal" programs that are nothing more than more adware in themselves... Bastards...

    - Cryo
     
  16. Chuck C

    Chuck C Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,224
    Likes Received:
    1
    uh oh, i feared the worst...

    given your descrp's, looks like a virus. i run adaware all the time...spybot sometimes. hopefully, spyware debuggers will fix it, if not, ill have to crack down and buy norton antivirus!

    i feel my ego has let me down on this one b/c when it comes to computer maintenance, its almost a religous ordeal for me and hence the reason for no antivirus software. internet exploration and emails have outpaced my maintenance efforts....grrrr

    btw, i have not downloaded sp2 yet...prolly wont till i hear more good things about the need for it on a personal comp
     
  17. Cees Alons

    Cees Alons Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 1997
    Messages:
    19,357
    Likes Received:
    293
    Real Name:
    Cees Alons
    Ho, ho, ho. No jumping to conclusions. [​IMG]

    Not everything that looks weird is a virus. It could be, but you're not certain of that. Just go on diagnosing the problem.

    I take it you don't get the error message I referred to above when you try to run msconfig?

    Now, please, look up msconfig.exe on your disc, probably under the "windows" folder (may be called differently on your system, but probably WINDOWS, so I'll use that here): WINDOWSPCHEALTHHELPCTRBinaries. Is msconfig.exe indeed there? What is it's size and date of creation?

    (If you want to be sure about regedit, it should be in the WINDOWS folder).

    Now mine (msconfig.exe) is 155 KB (regedit is 143 KB) and created on the same day and time as so many system files in that folder (regedit.exe too). In my case, both are last modified recently: on the day I installed XP service pack 2. If you didn't do that, your date should be earlier.

    BTW, if you are afraid of possible viruses, it might be a good idea to install SP2, because apparently, it will modify/replace important system files with correct ones.



    Cees
     
  18. SethH

    SethH Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    0


    or you could just download the free AVG antivirus software.
     
  19. Chuck C

    Chuck C Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,224
    Likes Received:
    1
    cees...no error message


    free huh? hmm
     
  20. Chuck C

    Chuck C Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,224
    Likes Received:
    1
    msconfig is present in pc health folder...created 10/4-2002, 142 kb
     

Share This Page