I bought the Athena 5 point MKII set...looking for $300.00 Subwoofers now

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by sabryan, Oct 30, 2003.

1. sabryan

sabryan Extra

I got the set for $399.00 at Best Buy and apparently they are the only ones that carry them in the usa.

Very hard to find thoughts and reviews on this puppies.
    The were displayed next to the Kplish Quintent Home theater set also going for the same money, I went back and forh trying to figure out, which one to buy (Conditions to listens to speakers in a store are not adequate) and I decided to for the Athena's, they just sounded Bigger, Better and sharper.

I am not an expert on Sound, I just let my ear decide, they were for my Master Bedroom so they are kind of big, Kplish quintet size were the kind of size I was looking for.

They are connected to a Kenwood VR-6050 (ecost $99.00 shipped) receiver and I am yet not able to find the seetings that makes me happy.

I have connected my TV, DVD and Xbox (Xbox with Toslink)

When I go from DVD Mode to TV or xbox, I find myself adjusting the settings, as I find them not to be properly adjusted.

Speakers sound awesome, and because of that I found myself being more demanding on the sound quality output, I was very happy with a JVC 27" tv set which it had only one front speaker.

I am using my Subwoofer Onkyo SKW-210 from my Onkyo Home Theater setup Downstairs, and I just not getting the type of bass that I would be happy with.

So I am looking for and affordable Subwoofer, I was advised in another place to buy the matching Athena Subwoofer, which are Tuned to match the Athena's MKII, I just do not have $400.00 to spend.

By these Speaker awesome looking and Wall Brackets design it is just awesome and make a breeze to installed them.