What's new

I am a newbie please help (1 Viewer)

Mark_ON

Auditioning
Hello Everyone

I just finished building my basement home theatre.

My room is 11'wide and 18'long

I was planning on a 51" toshiba or 53" panasonic RPTV

Yamaha htr 5650 or 5660

Polk audio RM6700 and the PSW303 or 404

Do you think this is a good set up for the size?

Budget is 5000cdn

Thanks

P.S. Does any one have a connection in the greater toronto area?

Mark

Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Wayne
Sounds like a good system, except perhaps for the Polk sub. They aren’t exactly known for their stellar performance, probably they all use small drivers. I wouldn’t go with anything less than a 12-incher.

Regards,
Wayne A. Pflughaupt

GrahamT

Supporting Actor
Hey Mark,
Everything except the speakers. I would go with Polk R series or the new RTi's if you like POlk. Or audition some paradigms. Maybe the cinema or performance lines. In Canada we get a good deal on paradigms since they are made in Thornhill.

As for a subwoofer, I suggest maybe paradigm as well. I have a polk sub, they dont go very low. Also check www.creativesound.ca they have the adire rava for $600 cdn shipped.

Drew_W

Screenwriter
The Yamaha's rated spec versus real spec with all channels driven isn't fantastic. For that money, you could pickup a NAD T742 ($700 on clearance at Bay Bloor, among other places) which will serve you MUCH better, or $900 for the T752 which is what I'd suggest for you. If you're keen on the Yamaha, Best Buy has a package this week (thru till Thursday night) where you can pickup a Yamaha HTR5660 with JBL Northridge E series speakers, E80+E30+EC25+E150P for $2000. As well, TV wise, the Toshiba 51H83 is a good bet, and it can be had for around $2500. Perhaps if you picked up both at Best Buy they could hook you up with a good deal. That combo even leaves some room for taxes.