What's new

Hurricane Ready? (1 Viewer)

Johnny Angell

Played With Dinosaurs Member
Senior HTF Member
Deceased Member
Real Name
Johnny Angell
So I'm reading the newspaper today and I see this ad for Hurricane Window Tint. According to the ad, it will: add strength & protection; eliminate window boarding; and lower energy costs.

Now I can buy the last point and maybe even a little of the first point, but eliminate window boarding? Is this crazy?

Speaking of window boarding, I'm new to the Jacksonville area and I know hurricanes don't often hit here directly, but how do homeowners usually attach plywood panels to their houses. If I chose to do this, it would be nice to be able to do so without leaving big holes in the house after removing the plywood.

Glenn Overholt

Senior HTF Member
Hurricane window tint? Now why do I think that is overpriced?

I think I know what this stuff is - a little. An ad on TV showed a man attacking a window with a baseball bat.
Final score Man - 0 Window - 1.

I'd try and find out what the prices are without the "added" hurrican protection.

Glenn

AjayM

Screenwriter
It works...up to a point. But keep in mind that a man beating on a window with a baseball bat doesn't exert as much force on the window as say an 8ft 2x4 flying along at 150mph. Boarding a window offers an extra layer of protection, plus even with the coating the window will still "break" but the tint film will hold it together.

There are a couple of ways to put up boarding, run down to home depot and look for PLyLox clips or "plywood sheathing clips" (check out http://www.plylox.com/ for an idea of what they are). Depending on your home, you can drill some holes in the side of the house, install some anchors/bolts and go that direction as well (this would be a bit stronger than clips above).

Andrew

Glenn Overholt

Senior HTF Member
Yeah, I got to thinking about those windows later.