Hum on Sub!

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Kiko, Sep 9, 2002.

  1. Kiko

    Kiko Auditioning

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there,

    I have a Velodyne CHT-12, and it makes a sort of hum noise when it's turned on. I tested and plugged it on a Panamax DBS 500 to see if the problem were in the eletrical supply (eletrical interference, harmonical distortion, etc...), but the hum remained. So I ask: Is it normal such a noise in subwoofers?

    Thanks!

    Anthony Vaz, Sao Paulo - Brazil
     
  2. John F. Palacio

    John F. Palacio Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    0
    You mean just at the moment of turn on?

    Or is it there all the time?

    Did it just started doing it, or has it always been like that?
     
  3. Kiko

    Kiko Auditioning

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi John,

    The hum is present only when it's turned on. Since I've got it out of the box, it presented that noise. Does yours make any noise at all, or is it quiet as it can be?

    Thanks,

    Anthony Vaz
     
  4. Adam_R

    Adam_R Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had a similar problem with my SVS 20-39 PCi. I solved it by replacing the sub cable, which apparently was not properly shielded. You should do a search for "ground loop" and you'll get lots of threads with lots of things to try. Good luck!
     
  5. John F. Palacio

    John F. Palacio Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  6. James Daniels

    James Daniels Auditioning

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the same problem with my Cerwin Vega woofer. If you are using a one-way woofer cable, you might have the cable plugged in backwards. If that is not the problem, there might be too much power going into the plug and therefore you are having grounding issues. Look into those. Hope that this helps.
     
  7. Kiko

    Kiko Auditioning

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi james,

    The thing is that the continuoes even if no input cable has been plugged. Weird!

    Anthony Vaz
     
  8. Ben_wood

    Ben_wood Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2002
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    You might try a 3 to 2 "cheater plug". I use one on my Hsu VTF-2.
     
  9. Juan_R

    Juan_R Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    683
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  10. Eric Hargrove

    Eric Hargrove Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2001
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    I second Ben Wood' recommendation. He is right on the mark.
     
  11. Russell _T

    Russell _T Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    0
    If I remember correctly, the CHT model Velo's do not use a grounded plug, so a cheater would be of no use.
     
  12. Kiko

    Kiko Auditioning

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Russel l T is correct. My CHT is already a 2 pronged plug!
    Now what? Oh my...
     
  13. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,098
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
     
  14. Roger Kint

    Roger Kint Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've had a CHT10 which hummed and it turned out to be a defective amplifier mount. It really depends how loud the hum is. A little is normal, but too much is not. You'll have to talk to the Velodyne rep to figure it out.
     

Share This Page