What's new

International Hudson / Sirk: Captain Lightfoot (1955, Cinemascope); Masterpieces of Cinema / Universal (1 Viewer)

Hi everybody,

today, my "Captain Lightfoot" ("Wenn die Ketten brechen") Blu Ray arrived from amazon.de.

The disc is housed in a very nice digibook and is part of Koch Media's "Masterpieces of Cinema" Collection.

Please keep in mind that I am not an expert when it comes to evaluating video quality (especially when compared to many others on this forum) but let me offer my humble opinion. This transfer (courtesy of Universal) looks wonderful on the big screen via my JVC-DLA X30. When keeping the limitation of the early cinemascope lenses in mind, I have to say that it looks pretty sharp most of the time, colours do pop nicely and the soundtrack is rather bombastic (it is offered here in DTS-HD MA 2.0 Stereo).

Extras include Trailers, photo galleries and an introduction to the movie by Robert Osbourne from TCM.

I believe that Ireland has never looked better on film (with the exception of maybe "The Quiet Man"): great location work, beautiful cinematography and a rousing score, involving many traditional Irish songs.

Sure, some vintage Universal films have the usual Universal problems (DNR etc.), but in my opinion, this is not one of them. The disc is a keeper!

Great entertainment - great Blu Ray!

Next up is John Carpenter's "Village of the Damned".

Greetings from Germany!

Andreas

Robin9

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Robin
Thanks very much. I didn't know about this one even though I receive emails from Amazon Germany every two weeks notifying me of new releases. I'm a sucker for mid-50s Cinemascope films so I'll probably buy this disc.

Mark-P

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Mark Probst
Thanks for the report. I don't suppose you would be able to comfirm if the disc is actually region locked (regardless of what is printed on the label)?

Mark-P said: