HTPC Video Cabling Question

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Bill Wise, May 2, 2003.

1. Bill Wise

Bill Wise Agent

Gang,

I'm a computer hardware nerd by trade and an HT newbie, so the concept of the HTPC intrigues me no end. What I'm wondering is, how do you physically connect the PC to the TV/PJ if they're not in close physical proximity to each other?

For instance, I can envision a scenario that would have an HTPC and a RAID array tucked away in a 19" rack in my furnace room for noise reasons. Or, the HTPC is in the equipment rack at the front of the room but the projector unit is 20' away hanging from the ceiling.

How are you able to get a signal to the display devices over these distances?

Thanks,

Bill

2. Vince Maskeeper

Vince Maskeeper Producer

Well, some people, who do what you say, use the raid array machine as a file server- and still have a machine near the Screen (silenced of course). If not, VGA and DVI cables can be purchased to do long runs.

-Vince

3. Tekara

Tekara Supporting Actor

hehe, my computer is currently in the my basement/den area and my home theater is in the living room. for the connection i use a 50ft svid cable and a 50ft rca for the digital coax connection. for controlling the pc I use a RF remote (ati remote wonder) and I do have a wireless keyboard and mouse but haven't tried them at that distance.
    works great, good picture, great sound.

4. Bill Wise

Bill Wise Agent

Vince - I was under the impression that DVI had a distance limitation of 10m and I've not had good luck with VGA cables longer than about 20', but those have been purely in computing environments. Are you saying that a higher quality custom cable would overcome those limitations?

Rob - Does the 50' S-Vid run provide the same quality picture as a VGA or DVI connection? I'd have thought there'd be significant degredation.

Thanks for the info, guys. Much appreciated.

Bill

5. Vince Maskeeper

Vince Maskeeper Producer