What's new

HTPC, necessary? (1 Viewer)

pearlyred

Grip
Real Name
Lee
Hi all,

I'm just wondering whether a HTPC is worth investing in at the moment. I currently have a small HT set up in the living room, consisting of a HK receiver/DVD player, 5:1 Infinity speakers and a Panny 900u projector and an iPod hooked into the receiver. When the PS3 is released here in New Zealand I'll probably be purchasing one of those too.

So, with all the Xbox's/PS's floating around these days, is a HTPC still worth having? What can it offer that the other items can't? Obviously the cost to put one together is a factor too.

Ta
PR

Parker Clack

Schizophrenic Man
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Parker
Lee:

I have been using an HTPC for a couple of years now. The advantages for me where that I could use it as a PVR, DVD player, surf the web, and more all in one box. I can hardly wait for the Blu Ray and HD DVD drives to come out (at a reasonible price) so I can have both in one box. Then I will add an HDTV tuner card to record Hi Def. The scaling of a video card is great too.

The other major advantage to me is that I can upgrade pieces as they are developed without having to go out and get a whole new device. Add on several hard drives and you can archive your entire library. Then if you have another one in another room you can watch what is on the other one from whatever room you are in. I will record a show on my HTPC downstairs and then stream the video to my unit upstairs over my wireless network.

So in my opinion yes they are worth having.

Parker

pearlyred

Grip
Real Name
Lee
Hi Parker,

Thanks for your reply. Has your HTPC now totally replaced DVD players etc in your house? Is the quality of video and audio comparable to that of the stand-alone players? How much is dependant on the quality of the video card and dvd drive?

Could you give me an idea of what hardware you use for your HTPC and whether you consider it adequate/overkill/outdated etc for the tasks you mentioned?