HTPC FOR MUSIC ONLY (for now) ?

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Joe Thompson, Sep 15, 2003.

1. Joe Thompson

Joe Thompson Stunt Coordinator

Hey People,
    I am very new to HTPC...I am wondering if anyone uses their HTPC as a music hub...I want to d/l all my cd's into a hard drive & use it as a jukebox...I suspect you can do this, what type of software do most people use for this? Also this would be a way to get my wife into having a full blown HTPC with HD video capabities at a later date...The reason for this now is that I was looking into buying 1 of those 400 disk changers & then I thought what about a "music server", the wife seemed ok with this so far...& was hoping it might be alot cheaper....I know I would need a huge hard drive but besides that what would give me "audiophile" grade sound from the PC....
    Really any help would sure be appreciated

Thanks

Joe

2. Mathew Shelby

Mathew Shelby Second Unit

If you want "audiophile" grade sound, then you will probably need a large hard drive and a good sound card. I use the M-Audio Revolution 7.1 (as do many on this forum) and I am very pleased with the results. I am not an audiophile, and have ripped all my CDs into MP3 format using EAC (Exact Audio Copy) and LAME and it is more than sufficient for my needs. I would suggest starting with like 120gb hard drive (can be had around $70-$80 with all the rebates) and load all your songs onto that. Later when you decide to go with a fullblown HTPC then you can just remove the drive from your current PC and put it in the new one. FYI: Sony is coming out with a new model 985V SACD 400 disc DVD changer for around $300. For a front end check out myhtpc or mainlobby.

3. BenSC

BenSC Stunt Coordinator

There is a post going on in the... DIY Forum I think. It's a guide on how a member here used a good mic and some EQ software to get a nearly flat response curve in room. I would take a look at that as well.

4. Joe Thompson

Joe Thompson Stunt Coordinator