What's new

HTPC Display help (1 Viewer)

HenryP

Auditioning
Hi, I am a newbie when it comes to HTPC. I was recently building a new computer and decided I'd like to use it as both a PC and HTPC. I have run into a problem concerning the display on my TV. Unfortunately, this setup is for my dorm room, and I'm on a tight budget and cannot upgrade to an HDTV anytime soon. I have a 20" Samsung flat screen TV, and since the TV doesn't have DVI, I am stuck using S-Video. When I have my VGA monitor connected, everything is crystal clear. But when I have S-Video connected, the image on my TV is blurry. I tried changing the resolution, and while lowering the resolution made the icons larger, they were still blurry (and I wouldn't want to watch my DVDs on a lower resolution anyways). When I put in a DVD, the picture comes in great on the TV. So while it isn't a huge problem, I'd like to be able to navigate through windows on my TV without the blur problem.

Of course, worst case senario, I can set everything up on my computer monitor, since Windows isn't blurry on the monitor, then watch the dvd over the TV, but it would be convenient if I could just do everything on my TV. Any ideas on how to fix this blur problem?

Finally, when I tested my audio using the coax S/PDIF out that was built into my motherboard, it would only detect Dolby Pro Logic, and not Dolby Digital 5.1. My guess is that my mobo is just not set up to output 5.1 digitally, so I'm thinking of buying a separate sound card, most likely Chaintech AV710. My question regarding that is: by using the optical out on the Chaintech card, will I get true Dolby Digital 5.1 or will it only output Pro Logic? My other guess as to why I'm not getting Dolby Digital is that maybe the software I am using (WinDVD 5) may not have a Dolby Digital decoder. If that is the case, is there a good DVD playback software that is free or relatively cheap and capable of outputting Dolby Digital and DTS?