HTML help needed

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Tim H, Sep 6, 2003.

  1. Tim H

    Tim H Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2001
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've been fooling around a little more with tables on my webpage. I dreamed up what I thought was a simple scenario.

    Please look at the following page and tell me why there is a horizontal gap right in the middle of the picture. I'm assuming it either has something to do with a table attribute I missed or a simple IE6 issue.

    http://www.timothyhoward.net/indextest2.html

    I won't waste space with the source code here since it can be accessed from the page.

    Also, I'm no HTML expert so let's keep things in layman's terms. [​IMG]

    Thanks!
     
  2. Jeff Kleist

    Jeff Kleist Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 1999
    Messages:
    11,267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've had this happen before. Basically you need to recode that page, because some error or garbage character snuck in (at least I think that's what it was, I honestly don't know)
     
  3. John_Berger

    John_Berger Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mozilla is displaying the menu without any problems whatsoever. All four segments are coming together just like they should.

    IE isn't working properly but Mozilla is?

    Imagine that.

     
  4. Tim H

    Tim H Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2001
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  5. Jeff Kleist

    Jeff Kleist Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 1999
    Messages:
    11,267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    make sure you save it to a new file too
     
  6. Peter McDonald

    Peter McDonald Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is how you have set up your cells:

    (TD)
    (a href="pictures.html"
    onMouseOver="turnOn)'Pictures');"
    onMouseOut="turnOff)'Pictures');")(img name="Pictures" class="imgTrans"
    src="images/meandghost2.jpg" border="0")(/a)
    (/TD)

    You need to change the cells to this:

    (TD)
    (a href="pictures.html"
    onMouseOver="turnOn)'Pictures');"
    onMouseOut="turnOff)'Pictures');")(img name="Pictures" class="imgTrans"
    src="images/meandghost2.jpg" border="0")(/a)(/TD)

    The only difference is that there is no line break between the (/a) tag and the (/TD) tag.

    Hope that helps.

    Peter

    Note: I've changed the less-than and greater-than signs to brackets so the forum software will display the code properly.))
     
  7. Tim H

    Tim H Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2001
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     

Share This Page