What's new

HTiB Help Needed (1 Viewer)

AllanY

Auditioning
Hi I'm a newbie to home theater. I wanted a easy setup home theatre that fit into my small budget.

I'm looking into 4 HTiB solution:
1. Yamaha YHTB350 6.1 Home Theatre Package
2. Yamaha YHT100S 5.1 Home Theatre Package
3. Sony HT-DDW750 Home-Theater In-A-Box
4. JVC THB-60

I talked to some sales ppl and they say the Yamaha package is nice with quality receiver but underpowered speakers. The sony got better speakers but not as good receiver with Yamaha. JVC give out the most power with 700W.

What do you guys think? Any comments are appreciated. Thanks!

Ed Moxley

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Ed
I'm not real familiar with HTIBs, but I have, and prefer JVC receivers. A lot of bang for the buck. I know my receiver has more features than most, in the same price range. You said the JVC has more power............may come in handy later, if you decide to upgrade speakers, and you probably will. One thing about HT....... folks with one, seem to get upgrade-itis a lot! :)

AaronJB

Second Unit
I auditioned a Yamaha HTIB a little over a year ago and my first thought was that the receiever was quite nice, but the speakers seemed noticably strained at mid-to-high volumes.

While the speakers in the set-ups you noted looked different than the little cubes that I saw, they may still sound similar.

The JVC looks nice, but I'm not too sure about it (nothing against JVC, I had one of their first DVD-Audio players for a while). I wouldn't go with the Sony, as I've read too many reports about people having trouble with their Sony mini-systems. I've also heard (and I may be completely wrong on this) that Sony uses proprietary connections on some of their mini systems, so you wouldn't be able to upgrade. That's a big issue with a HTIB system that you choose - you want to be able to upgrade the speakers and/or reciever without having to toss one or the other.