DVD Review HTF Review: Mulholland Falls

Discussion in 'DVD' started by Jason Perez, Oct 7, 2004.

1. Jason Perez

Jason Perez Second Unit

Jul 6, 2003
    Mulholland Falls

Studio: MGM
    Year: 1996
    Rated: R
    Running Time: 107 minutes
    Aspect Ratio: 16x9 Enhanced Widescreen (1.85:1) and Full Frame (1.33:1)
    Subtitles: English, French, and Spanish
    Audio: English – Dolby Digital 5.1

Release Date:
    November 2nd, 2004

For me, the impressive ensemble cast of director Lee Tamahori’s Mulholland Falls, and its promise of an intriguing murder mystery, made this a movie with lots of potential. Unfortunately, although it has a very talented cast, and is clearly crafted to be reminiscent of the noir films of old, the result fails to live up to its potential, instead ending up as little more than a feeble attempt to emulate its more memorable predecessors. To be sure, I am no expert on the noir genre, but I don’t think one has to be to become frustrated by Mulholland Falls. Really, aside from some of the performances and the excellent cinematography by Haskell Wexler, just about every aspect of this film is mediocre, especially the script, which grows increasingly illogical as the movie runs its course.

Set in Los Angeles during the 1950s, Mulholland Falls tells the tale of four brutal police officers: Max Hooper (Nick Nolte), Elroy Coolidge (Chazz Palminteri), Eddie Hall (Michael Madsen), and Arthur Relyea (Chris Penn). These four thugs frequently operate outside of the normal system of justice they are part of, as a pseudo-vigilante outfit that has no qualms about intimidating, torturing, and even killing suspected criminals when they deem it to be necessary.