1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Hardware Review HTF REVIEW: Harmony 880 Remote

Discussion in 'Home Automation, Accessories, Cables, and Remotes' started by Ronald Epstein, Jun 22, 2005.

  1. Adam Sanchez

    Adam Sanchez Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 1999
    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    110
    Hey all

    Just a followup. I got this yesterday morning. (Ordered Friday morning via Ebay store, got it in almost exactly 24 hours.)

    i LOVE this thing, This is the remote I have always wanted. Back in the Day I use to want a Pronto, but I am glad this now exists. The remote feels great, looks great, and of course works great.

    I have no worries about it not controlling any of my devices because for all of it it gave me WAY MORE commands than they actually have. I don't know why it did that, but I simply deleted the extra commands. I have the pages for each device perfectly set to my liking. I figure now that I have my first DVR and WS TV with HD, this remote was needed.

    Only a few minor things. I am probably mistaken, but I could of sworn I read you could do more than 16 favorite channels with logos. I thought I read somewhere you could do 8 pages. Was I mistaken?

    The web setup mentions something about the TV listings but I have no idea how to access this feature... or if it's even working... on my remote.

    No complaints though. It's wonderful. Last remote I will need for a long long long time to be sure!
     
  2. Adam Sanchez

    Adam Sanchez Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 1999
    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    110
    No follow up? Still lovin' my remote though...
     
  3. Robert Lovejoy

    Robert Lovejoy Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2001
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just picked up an 880. It didn't take long to fully charge, and the web setup had it running just like that. I've already modified its default setting to add the "stretch" control for the PVR (SA 8300HD) to the main activity window (else it was on page 4 of the PVR menu!) I'm sure I'll be doing plenty of tweaks in the next few days, but by and large, this thing woks great!

    Thanks Ron for the review - that was the clincher for me!
     
  4. Ronald Epstein

    Ronald Epstein Founder
    Owner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    53,281
    Likes Received:
    9,096
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Real Name:
    Ronald Epstein
    I can still say that after months of use, this is
    the best remote I ever used! I love the fact that
    if a particular component fails to turn on or off,
    the HELKP button quickly remedies the situation.

    Quick story....

    I think I mentioned that there were problems
    with the design of the charger base and how the
    remote did not sit firmly in it.

    Well, Logitech is gladly replacing these bases
    free of charge for anyone who writes and explains
    the problem they are having. Mine came within days
    of writing their Customer Support.

    Great company to work with.
     
  5. Adam Sanchez

    Adam Sanchez Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 1999
    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    110
    Ron,

    Was the replacement base any different? Is anything noticably improved? I love this remote too. I'm so glad I got one. [​IMG]
     
  6. Robert Lovejoy

    Robert Lovejoy Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2001
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Based on Ron's review, I picked one up yesterday. I'm not at all disappointed - this is a great remote! Also, it appears Logitech has fixed the docking station problem, as my remote easily latches on to the power in the cradle.
     
  7. Ronald Epstein

    Ronald Epstein Founder
    Owner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    53,281
    Likes Received:
    9,096
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Real Name:
    Ronald Epstein
    Adam,

    You would not be able to tell the difference
    between the old and new.

    What you do notice is that the Harmony sits
    more comfortably (tight) in the modified base
    with none of the shifting that caused the remote
    to lose it contacts and thus its charge capability.

    If you bought one of these remotes as early
    as the Fall of last year and are having problems
    with it not sitting in the cradle properly -- by
    all means contact Logitech. They have been very
    good about taking care of their customers.
     
  8. Adam Sanchez

    Adam Sanchez Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 1999
    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    110
    This may seem like an odd question, but is there any way to tell if you have a good base or not?

    I got my 880 not even 2 months ago, but it was bought online (new) so who knows the manufactur time. Far as I can tell, and I was aware of it from the reviews, it seems to charge fine. If I just kind of drop it into the base I hear the beep and I know it's charging. Sometimes I will have to tap it down with my finger but nothing at all troublesome. I would guess I probably have one that's fine.

    Sound like that's the case to you?
     
  9. Ronald Epstein

    Ronald Epstein Founder
    Owner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    53,281
    Likes Received:
    9,096
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Real Name:
    Ronald Epstein
    The problem I found with the original
    cradle was identical to other problems
    being reported on the Remote Control forum.

    The remote had too much play in the cradle.

    In other words, you would plop it in and
    in most cases it would not go into charge
    mode or you would have to wiggle it till it
    fell into place.

    When I put the remore in its cradle I always
    press the GLOW button at the same time to
    turn off and reserve the LCD power. With the
    old cradle, doing this was not always a smooth
    manuever as the LCD light didn't always go off
    as it wasn't situated in the cradle correctly.

    Logitech realizes that there was a faulty
    design with the initial batch and they are
    doing an admirable job replacing these cradles
    at their cost.

    I love this remote, and I still admire the
    fact that I love it so much coming off of owning
    a Pronto all these years. The Harmony is just
    as functional but far easier to program and use.
     
  10. Adam Sanchez

    Adam Sanchez Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 1999
    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    110
    I love how "Future proof" it is... at least to me. As if the constantly updated web setup wasn't enough, it can also learn other remotes. I don't buy components very often... in fact it will most likely be years before I get anything new so this remote can theoretically last me indefinately.

    In other news, I think my charger is fine. It works with very minimul placing/fiddling. Usually none at all.
     
  11. Robert Lovejoy

    Robert Lovejoy Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2001
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I finally got some time to really tweak the 880 tonight. I have a Pioneer 1014, and when I looked at the device menu, I saw a _lot_ of commands for features I didn't have, such as a PHONO input. After a while I realized it didn't matter a great deal, as I don't have to push that key. I am wondering, though, if there is a way to clean up and reorder device menus. I wouldn't mind removing useless controls, or organizing the eleven pages of controls more efficiently. I haven't found this option on the website, just a means of adjusting activity softkeys.

    Another quirk I noticed - I added control of audio features to my Watch DVD activity. I added "Standard" to switch between the various DD/DTS modes, and "THX". Now I note that these controls show up in my PVR and VCR activity menus as well. If I take them out of the PVR activity, they go away in all activities. Again, not a big deal.

    Overall, it's pretty well set up now and running fine. It still charges robustly when placed in the crate. I'm a pretty happy camper right now.
     
  12. Adam Sanchez

    Adam Sanchez Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 1999
    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    110
    Robert,

    I did this about two months ago so my details might be vague but you can clean up and reorder the commands the remote puts on the screen pages.

    If you can find your way into the editing of each activity as well as invidual device, you will eventually come to the page(s) that show every command the remote is set up to do. The top portion of the setup screen is for the hard buttons, and the bottom half is for the 8 soft buttons on the LCD screen. Basically just erase the text for the commands you dont want, and simply reorganize the ones you want, and on what page. Each page shows 8 commands, so just count down as you do it, to know where each command will end up. I took a few hours on mine, deleted things that didn't even apply to my items, and putting the commands on the pages I liked based on how often, or not often, I used them.

    Hope this helps a bit.
     
  13. Robert Lovejoy

    Robert Lovejoy Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2001
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks Adam, I'll look harder. I found a screen like the one you mentioned, but it was for an activity, not a device. I'll keep looking!
     
  14. Jimi C

    Jimi C Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,212
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    110
    I have a question about the 880. I have a motorized draper projector screen which to be properly aligned with my projector has to be stopped at a specific point, in other words, i want to stop it before it goes all the way down. Is it possible to set up a macro for this? Timing is obviously the key here. With the remote that came with the screen i have to press down, then stop when It is properly aligned.

    So, again, Is it possible to set up a macro with a delay between actions?
     
  15. Travis Olson

    Travis Olson Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2001
    Messages:
    939
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    110
    Real Name:
    Travis Olson
    I just bought a Harmony 880 today. How long does the initial charge take? I've skimmed through this thread but haven't seen a definitive answer to this. I've had it sitting on the cradle for about 5 hours now it when I pick it up it does nothing. I can use it while on the cradle however. I hear 2 beeps when it I put it on the cradle. I'm wondering if the battery is defective.
     
  16. Robert Lovejoy

    Robert Lovejoy Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2001
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine only took five hours to fully charge. Perhaps you should reinsert the battery, making certain that it's making contact.
     
  17. Travis Olson

    Travis Olson Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2001
    Messages:
    939
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    110
    Real Name:
    Travis Olson
    I checked a thread over at AVS on the subject. Turns out the battery wasn't making contact. I had to put a couple pieces of paper in it to make the battery make contact. Not what I would expect from a $200 device. Oh well, it all works now.
     
  18. Wilson Ortiz

    Wilson Ortiz Auditioning

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi Guys,

    I'm interesting in getting the Harmony 880, and was wondering if I will be able to control IR Dimmer Switches made by Lutron (Spacer System) I tried to get information from Logitech but to register on their website, I have to have the remote control which I have not order yet.

    Thanks
     
  19. tonyGar

    tonyGar Agent

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Am I in trouble? I got a Harmony 880 but my equipment is in another room, just adjacent to my HT room. The walls are up...what should I do?

    Is the 880 RF or have the ability to control equipment in another room? If so, how??

    PLEASE HELP!
     
  20. Jeremy Little

    Jeremy Little Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2001
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    110
    No, you need the 890 which adds RF.
     

Share This Page