What's new

HTF Members: Please help marketing student with HD DVD questions (1 Viewer)

Ronald Epstein

Founder
Owner
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Ronald Epstein
I received the following email from a marketing
student. I felt that perhaps the HTF membership
might be very helpful in providing some answers.

Please post your thoughts on this matter. If possible,
keep to the facts while minimizing debate.

Susan will be reading this thread. Thank You.

Hello.

I am a marketing student at San Francisco State.

My research group was recently presented with a project to review a new product and discuss marketing strageties and problems that arise from that said product. I was wondering if you have any research information on:

* DVD consumers and their willingness/unwillingness to purchase the new HD formats (Is the average consumer aware of the technology of HD or even concerned about the quality of SD DVDs?)

* The effects on the DVD market (Is the eventual takeover by HD DVDs likely?)

* The market statistics (How stable is the DVD market? Is there enough demand in the market for HD DVDs?)

* What problems retailers would face with presenting the new
product(s). (Will having all these different formats only work to confuse? [widescreen, fullscreeen, HD DVD, Blu-ray]

I have also been wondering how this new technology is affecting other markets, namely the theater industry. As technology gets better in consumers' homes, are they still likely to visit movie theaters for their entertainment?

_Any_ information is appreciated, even if it a reference suggestion. Thanks in advance for your time and help.

Ronald Epstein

Founder
Owner
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Ronald Epstein
> * DVD consumers and their willingness/unwillingness to purchase the
> new HD formats (Is the average consumer aware of the technology of
> HD or even concerned about the quality of SD DVDs?)

I think the average consumer may be well
aware of HD televisions and the picture