What's new

HTF Golfers Unite! (1 Viewer)

Scott Merryfield

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Scott Merryfield
I am not sure how many golfers we have out there on the forum, but I thought it would be nice to have a thread for those of us who chase that little white ball around. :) I have been playing for the past 45 years, and my handicap now fluctuates between 10 and 12.

Last edited:

Scott Merryfield

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Scott Merryfield
The catalyst that got me to start this thread is that I have recently been upgrading my clubs. My wife has been selling my old comic books, so I used the proceeds on the sales so far to replace some old equipment.

What I started with:
Cobra F6 driver
Callaway Big Bertha Fusion 3 & 5 woods
Callaway Heavenwood Hybrid #3 & #4
MacGregor VFoil 455 irons (5 - PW)
Cleveland CBX 52 & 58 degree wedges
Odyssey White Hot Teron putter

I upgraded to the Cleveland CBX wedges in the Spring of 2018, replacing some Cleveland blade wedges. The Cobra driver is about 3 years old, and the Odyssey putter is a large mallet that's quite old, but I am still happy with -- I did install one of those new oversized Superstroke putter grips in the Spring of 2018. As my swing has changed over the years, I have been struggling with my fairway woods -- I rarely hit the 3 wood anymore. So, I started by upgrading the fairway woods, and then the hybrids. This created a yardage gap between my new hybrids and my 5 iron -- the longest iron I carry. This meant either adding another hybrid, or just replacing those 10-12 year old MacGregor irons, as I have been threatening to do for the past 3-4 years (the grooves are getting worn on several of the clubs).

Anyway, after trying lots of options at our local golf shop -- Carl's Golfland -- here is my new configuration:

Cobra F6 Driver (this will wait awhile for an upgrade)
Cobra F9 5 wood
Taylormade M6 Hybrid #3 & #4
Taylormade M6 irons (5 - PW)
Cleveland CBX 48, 52 & 58 degree wedges