What's new

HT Magazine & Trade Journal (1 Viewer)

AllanN

Supporting Actor
What are some of the more reputable HT magazines and trade journals? I’m a newbie and would like to read up on some of the new technology in HT.

Bob McElfresh

Senior HTF Member
Magazines like The Perfect Vision and Widescreen Review tend to have a lot of technical content. While they tend to showcase higher-end equipment, they are considered fairly repuitable.
One of my current favorites is Stereophile Guide to Home Theater. They do a nice mix of high end equipment, regular stuff, and they have regular articles on dedicated home theater rooms, and PC-based theaters.
Sound and Vision has ... gone a bit downhill lateley. I just read the recent issue and I cannot remember anything interesting. Just a lot of whining about HDTV rollout (that everyone has been doing for 2 years). But it's not a bad magazine and may be just right for "getting into" the hobby.
Audio Video Interiors - This is the "Home and Garden" magazine where looks are more important than performance. But many of us sneak a copy every few months to drool over the high-end, dedicated HT rooms they display. It's worth picking up a copy or two.
Hope this helps.

Ted Lee

Senior HTF Member
personally i like sght (great reviews of some higher-end stuff, but just about affordable) and soundandvision (good explanation of technology plus reviews of stuff i can actually afford).
as with any magazine, the reviews need to be taken with a grain of salt - after all they do have to pay their bills.
i'll usually read the articles and reviews just to learn about new technology, etc.
here's another thread on the same topic:
http://www.hometheaterforum.com/htfo...ne+audio+video
btw - if anyone else reads this: what would be the sense in subscribing to something like whathifi? i like it, but would i be able to get the gear they review - since it's a european based magazine?

Richard Travale

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Rich Travale